homemade gift ideas

Christmas is only 5 days away (!), and I’m guessing that most of you already have holiday gifts determined and purchased…right?!?  This post is probably a bit late, but I thought it might be helpful to those of you still looking for last minute gifts for friends, family and co-workers.

Brian and I have given homemade gifts out for the last few years, and always enjoy the pleased responses we receive in return.  In a time when spending significant amounts of money is difficult for most, putting personal effort into gifts rather than cash is a nice alternative.  I’ve compiled a few ideas for you to choose from…enjoy!

Homemade Jam

Homemade jam can be made with fresh and frozen fruit.  Be sure to use a proper method of preservation if you plan to give the gifts un-refrigerated.  If you’d rather not tackle the canning process, tell recipients to keep their jam refrigerated for up to 4 weeks.

blackberry peach jam

Homemade Granola

A batch of granola is quick to whip up, and keeps for weeks in an airtight container in the pantry.

mixed fruit granola

Homemade Almond Butter

Nut butter made from scratch is so much better than store-bought because you can mix your own interesting combinations.  It can be a bit pricey though, depending on the nuts you choose.

cinnamon vanilla almond butter

Homemade Hot Cocoa Mix and Marshmallows

Homemade marshmallows are nothing like their store-bought cousins.  So light and fluffy, they truly melt in your mouth (or your hot cocoa).  For a little twist, add some peppermint extract in place of vanilla.  If you don’t have vanilla sugar for the cocoa mix (it takes about 2 weeks to make your own) just substitute regular sugar.

hot cocoa mix

marshmallows

Homemade Baked Goods

Always a winner, nobody frowns at a box/tin/basket/bag full of baked treats.

triple ginger cookies

dark chocolate almond bites

peppermint eggnog scones

citrus scones with cranberries and ginger

15 responses to “homemade gift ideas

  1. Such beautiful pictures, and great gift ideas!

  2. Love these ideas! I definitely am going to use some of these this year!

  3. I love it all, especially the granola jars and almond butter! I would love to receive such gifts x x

  4. I would be beyond honored and thrilled to ever receive one of your homemade gifts. 🙂 You have some lucky friends and family who are able to share in some of these wonders.

    I made homemade granola for my co-workers this year and it worked out beautifully!

    Happy Holidays Andrea! 🙂

  5. Homemade foodie gifts are my favorite to give and recieve! Love all of your beautiful creations, I am thinking of trying the marshmallows!

    Merry Christmas Andrea to you and your husband and family 🙂

  6. I love, love, love homemade gifts. And I think anyone would be delighted to receive yours. This year I made chocolate pecan turtles sweetened w. agave. My grandmother made her special Autumn conserve.
    BODA weight loss

  7. These are such brilliant ideas!! I love how dressed up everything looks.

  8. these ideas are heavenly. WOW!

  9. Thanks for all of these lovely ideas. Your gift recipients sure are lucky!

  10. Love the granola idea!!

  11. Thanks for the great ideas! I’m making the granola and the almond butter. I spent $67 at the store today on just nuts and dried fruit but it will be worth it. Love that the almond butter has cinnamon and vanilla in it.

  12. I love taking the homemade gift route. Usually it’s cookies, but I’ve also done caramels and brittles in the past. Jam is a great idea. And I would really love to get in a batch of caramel popcorn for a hostess gift this week if I can manage it!

  13. What a fabulous idea for Christmas. In past years, I have baked up a storm for family and friends but sadly, this year time was not my friend. I am inspired by what you have done here. Maybe next year I can start a little early and select some items that can be prepared a little in advance?

  14. Thanks Everybody! Very Happy Holidays to you all!

    Julia – The jam was great to do ahead. We made batches all summer long and then just had to make tags to distribute them in December.

  15. simplehungrybroke

    love these photos and ideas! everything looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

