c’ville pie fest!

If you follow me on Twitter, you probably know that I spent the end of last week learning about the C’ville Pie Fest, deciding to enter, quickly developing a recipe spinning off of the Italian Plum Cake that I made last weekend, testing and tweaking the recipe for two nights and then deciding not to enter the contest at the last minute.  It was a whirlwind 36 hours, starting at noon on Thursday and ending at midnight Friday, with most of the action occurring between 6pm and 12am both nights.  By the time I decided that I just wasn’t prepared with a contest-worthy entry I was exhausted, covered in flour and so sick of plum pie that I vowed to not eat anymore for a year (until I woke up Saturday morning and had it for breakfast).

Despite being disappointed with my lack of an entry, the whole C’ville Pie Fest experience was fantastic.  I made some new friends on Twitter and met most of them in person at the lovely and brand new Mudhouse Coffeehouse in Crozet, including Brian [The Food Geek], MariJean [STL Working Mom], Mollie Cox Bryan [author of Mrs. Rowe’s Little Book of Southern Pies, which I’ll be reviewing here on Bella Eats in the next few weeks!] and Angie Brement [Angie Brement Photography].  The organizers put on a wonderful event that drew an impressive crowd of spectators, bakers and judges, all to benefit PACEM, an organization that helps the homeless in Charlottesville.

A few photos from the event.  First, thank you to Mudhouse Coffeehouse for lending your space…

piefest merge 1

piefest-20

So many delicious-looking pies…

piefest-2

piefest-4

piefest-3

The judging begins…

piefest merge 2

piefest-10

piefest-11

The spectators are allowed to join in the fun…

piefest merge 3

piefest-12

And only shrapnel remains…

piefest-17

piefest-15

To read more about the event, check out The Daily Progress and CBS19 News.

I learned a few important lessons over the last four days, namely that one should never enter a pie contest with only 36 hours to prepare without a fool-proof recipe in hand.  I also realized that I really have no pie recipes in my repertoire, other than this cranberry apple pie that only does me good when cranberries are in season.  And so, since we are approaching two major holidays that traditionally include a lot of pie, I’ve decided to declare October Bella Eats Pie Month, focusing on one pie recipe each Thursday for the next 4 weeks.  Are you excited?  I am!

pie logo

This Thursday I’ll start Bella Eats Pie Month with a recap of the trials and tribulations for the Italian Plum Pie I had hoped to enter in C’ville Pie Fest.  I hope to have reached a solution by then…keep your fingers crossed for me.

For the other three weeks, I was planning to feature some traditional holiday pie recipes but am still open to suggestions.  Please leave a comment and tell me what you’d like to see, I look forward to your feedback!

25 responses to “c’ville pie fest!

  1. Your photos are beautiful, and it looks like that event was so much fun (and delicious slash dangerous!). Looking forward to the pie recipes 🙂

  2. Mmmm, I love pies!! Paula Deen’s show was all about pies this morning!! She made fried chicken pot pies. Omg.

  3. What a cool event!

    Did Mudhouse open a new store in Crozet, or did it leave the Downtown Mall? (I’ll be sad if the latter is the case!) I’ve only been to Crozet for the pizza. 🙂

  4. Two thumbs up for the pie month idea! I love pie… especially during the cooler months, and I can’t wait to see your recipes. The plum pie sounds delicious!

  5. I wish I had known about this! C-ville is very close to me, and that totally would’ve been worth the drive. I’ve heard of Crozet (never been) because of their famous pizza!

    p.s. I love this beautiful blog!

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

  6. Incredible!! Can’t wait for pie month to being 🙂

  7. Fabulous photos! I’m so glad you came to the Pie Fest — I’m excited about Pie Month and will be sharing my recipes on my blog this week. Glad to have made a new pie-loving friend!

  8. I’m pretty partial to apples myself 🙂

  9. Woohoo! Pie month! Sounds rockin to me! Do they take salted or unsalted butter? Hehehehehe.

  10. Beautiful pics! Enjoyed meeting you! Thanks for the shout out!

    Angie

  11. Can you start by telling me how to make a fool proof pie crust?

  12. Any savory pies on tap? I’d love to play around with some non-sweet combinations.

  13. YAYyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!! You’re amazing! Two things: first, did you see Joy the Baker’s post on no-roll pie crust? I thought it looked amazing because I am a terror at rolling out dough.

    Second, I’m SO excited about your pie month (which I think should be extended to six weeks, personally, but I’m just being selfish). I’ve lurve to see a recipe focusing on unorthodox ingredients – weird fruit or spices. I feel like those are always show-stoppers. In fact, I’m going to try to make a melon pie. It promises to be vomitous.

  14. So jealous you went! Mike and I kept talking about it!

  15. I’m lactose-intolerant, but there is a recipe for a sharp cheddar crusted apple pie that I would love to see made by you (so I can vicariously live through your gorgeous pictures) – I can send the recipe if you’re interested.

    I’m also a fan of non-dessert pies – tomato pie is so yum. Maybe one week could be dedicated to the savory side of pies?

  16. Mica – New shop in Crozet, the original is still on the Mall. 🙂

    Katharina – Welcome! You should definitely make the drive to Crozet, for Crozet Pizza, Chiles Peach Orchard (in the summer), Cocina del Sol, King Family Vineyards…I could go on. 🙂

    Marijean and Angie – Thank you! It was so nice meeting both of you, I look forward to keeping in touch!

    Sandy – I don’t have one yet, but I’m hoping that Pie Month will lead to a full-proof crust! Part of the plan is to explore several different types of crust, so maybe I’ll do a full recap at the end.

    Kristina and Hannah – I love the idea of a savory pie! I’ll definitely look into one. I actually made a delicious tomato pie this summer that I never posted…maybe I can still find some good specimens at our market this weekend.

    And Hannah, PLEASE send me that sharp cheddar crusted apple pie recipe!!! It sounds delicious!!!

    Wiggs – Awwww, I always love your comments!!! 🙂 I DID see Joy’s no-roll crust, and plan to try it out this month. And yes, I’ve been thinking that pie month may have to be extended to 6 weeks because there are just too many great options out there! Love the weird fruit/spice/ingredient idea. Will definitely look into that…

  17. Wow… that looked like fun! I have the best pie crust recipe in the world but I’m sworn to secrecy by my mom and great grandma. I’m not a huge pie fan. I really love warm apple pie and pumpkin pie but that’s about it. I can’t wait to see what you come up with. Maybe my tastes will be enlightened! 🙂

  18. Oh my pie!! I can’t believe people were just allowed to dig in. I would not have survived!!

  19. Becka – What a tease! Best pie crust recipe in the world…that’s a bold statement! 🙂 I bet you’d like the pie I’ll be posting on Thursday…

    Kath – I know! For a dollar (which went to the nonprofit the event benefitted) you received a plate and a fork, and were told to eat all the pie you wanted! Luckily by then I was pretty tired of pie after all of my trials the 48 hours prior… 🙂

  20. Pie month? I’m in! I had a pastry month back in August and now doing caramel. Great idea I think to concentrate on one thing for a while. Will be interested to see what you come up with! 🙂

  21. Wow! I would love to see any variation of pumpkin or maybe a banoffee? Looking forward to reading!

  22. Pingback: easy as…pie? « bella eats

  23. Pingback: cheddar apple pie « bella eats

  24. Pingback: a winner, indeed « bella eats

  25. Pingback: 5 weeks, 5 pies, 5 pounds « bella eats

Leave a Reply

