slow-rise sunday morning

Well, slow-rise for my pancakes that is. I, on the other hand, have changed things up a bit since my last Sunday Mornings post. You see, I’ve started running again. Not that I ever really stopped, I just slowed down a bit and wasn’t serious about increasing my mileage or training for any races. If you’ve been reading for awhile, a long while, you may remember when bella eats was a food and running diary. If not, and you’re interested, you can read a bit about my running story here and here.

pancakes 1

I don’t know what it is about running, but I feel like I have a little addiction to it. The funny thing about that is that I don’t particularly like to run. And I always seem to injure myself, which to me seems like a sign that maybe my body doesn’t like for me to run either. But I keep coming back, and every few months I get the urge to sign up for a big race to motivate me to increase my mileage. This time it started innocently enough, with registration for the Charlottesville Women’s 4-Miler on September 5th, which I run every year. From there it was easy to say “Hey! Why not go ahead and run the Pepsi 10K 2 weeks later?” And now, my crazy little head is thinking that maybe a half marathon isn’t all that bad, and the one in Richmond on November 14th is timed pretty perfectly…

pancakes 2

Its enough to make a girl feel a little crazy – all this back-and-forth, love/hate relationship with running stuff. But you have to understand that I read some pretty inspiring blogs, written by some ladies who until the last couple of years weren’t runners but have still managed to run half and even full marathons. Add to that my over-achiever personality and the fact that I haven’t yet completed a “long” race even though I’ve trained for two, which doesn’t sit well with me. And the last motivator is, well, food. I eat a pretty healthy daily diet full of veggies, whole grains and limited animal products but, as you’ve seen here at bella eats, I also really like to bake. And I really really like pancakes.

pancakes 3

Because Saturday mornings are reserved for the farmer’s market and a vinyasa yoga class, I’ve made Sunday mornings my long run days. This has been tough for me, as Sunday mornings have historically been leisurely, quiet and full of baked goods. I’m slowly adjusting, but have decided that recipes that can be started the night before (and the bloggers / chefs that share them) are going to be my new best friends. I tried my first last weekend, courtesy of the amazingly creative Vegan Yum-Yum blog, and was doubly motivated to finish my run in good time as I thought about the pancake batter coming to room temperature in my kitchen. Like a carrot being dangled in front of my nose, the promise of fluffy, yeast-risen pancakes embedded with slices of fresh-from-the-tree peaches kept me chugging along.

pancakes merge 1

Once home I switched on the stove to heat my griddle, added some cooking spray and slowly ladled pools of the yeast-full batter I’d made the night before. As the batter set I added the peach slices and waited for the tiny bubbles forming on the surface of the ‘cakes to start to pop, then flipped them over to reveal the golden brown surface below.  I woke Brian, who quickly went to get us coffee (since I broke our french press carafe last week, sob), and we settled around the table no later than usual.  The only difference this Sunday morning had to those of our past was that post-run, an indulgent Sunday breakfast is so much more satisfying.

One bite in and I knew that these were the best pancakes I’d had.  Ever.  Light and fluffy, with a nice yeast-y tone, they were complimented beautifully by the sweet peaches and real maple syrup.  We had leftovers, and they kept very well in an airtight container in the fridge until I re-heated them in the oven for breakfast this morning.

Slow-Rise Pancakes

adapted from Vegan Yum-Yum

makes (12) 4-inch pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2-1/4 tsp active dry yeast (1 packet)
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1-1/2 cups milk (I used plain almond milk)
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/3 cup milk, for thinning if desired

Method:

  1. Mix together the dry ingredients.
  2. Add the milk (not the 1/3 cup), vegetable oil and egg and mix until combined well.
  3. Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.
  4. The next morning, thin the batter if needed.  Let sit on the counter for 30 minutes before making pancakes.
  5. Heat your non-stick pan over medium heat.  Spray with cooking spray or rub with butter.
  6. Using 1/3-cup measure, begin making pancakes.  I laid peach slices in mine once the batter was set, but feel free to add apples, bananas, dates, etc.  If you’d like to add blueberries, currants, chocolate chips (anything small) I usually add them directly to the batter in the bowl.

pancakes merge 3

28 responses to “slow-rise sunday morning

  1. I am in awe of your commitment to running … And your pancakes. I have never tried a slow-rise method before; but that will surely change soon.

  2. Yum! I have never tried slow-rise pancakes either. Those look great and I intend to try it.

    Also, I must admit, I kinda miss seeing you once a day like I did when this was a food journal.

  3. I am signed up for a half in Sept. And the Bar really got in the way of my training. I can get up to 13.1 in 6 weeks after not running longer than 4 miles since May. right?

    How did you break your french press?

  4. Beautiful pancakes! Ooh, Richmond half! I’d do it if I were closer. Maybe I still will… 🙂

  5. Congrats on getting back into the running and signing up for the race! I find often times doing that makes it more motivational to get out there and run! It is indeed one of those things that I too come back to.
    How lovely a pancake recipe that you can prepare ahead of time and run in the door after the long run on Sunday’s to fire up the griddle. These pancakes look and sound incredible. Thanks for posting, Im going to give them a try!! 🙂

  6. indieconquers

    MMMM! Your pancakes always make my mouth water. Can’t wait to get some money and make my own homemade ones!

  7. What a perfect breakfast! I really love your blog header, it is so beautifully simple!

  8. Cheers to a re-fueling pancake breakfast after a morning run!

  9. Those pancakes look incredible! I’ve never thought of yeast in pancakes – in waffles, yes, but not pancakes. I bet they’re incredibly fluffy.

  10. Those pancakes do look incredible! I’m new to your blog so I’m interested to read your stories about running. I am just starting to run myself b/c I am also signed up for the Women’s 4 Miler. I’m doing the training program and really enjoying it! Maybe we can meet up for a run sometime (once I’m a little better, right now I would seriously slow you down!)

  11. Oh those look awesome!!! I think I’ll give them a try!

  12. Those look amazing!!!

  13. Those pancakes look amazing! I’m adding them to my list of recipes to try!

  14. Yay!!! So glad you are signed up for another race! 🙂 Can’t wait to hear how things go!

    Those pancakes look phenomenal! 🙂

  15. Here’s a congratulatory pat on the back for your return to running! I share in the love/hate relationship as I also suffered injuries from a road race. I miss all of those miles I used to breeze through each week. I hope to gradually make my way back, especially after reading this encouraging post. Of course, a batch of these first-rate pancakes would be enough of a motivator to rise for a run…

  16. the pancakes are so adorable! I’m definitely going to be trying this recipe, thanks 🙂

  17. Those look amazing!

  18. Penny – Aww, I have to admit, I kind of miss everyday posting too. But, there is just not enough time in my days. Thanks for sticking around!

    Whitney – You can totally do it! We should be motivators for each other…I’m going to need it! And my poor french press fell off the stove top while I was in a flurry making fried rice…so so sad. 😦

    Mica – You should! We could run together for the first minute and then you could leave me in your dust!!! 🙂

    Jen, Megan, IndieConquers, Tara, Lauren, Allison, Shelby, Christina, Lindsey, Allijag, Steph, FoodnFit – Thank you!

    Janie – I’m so glad you’re here, that you live in Charlottesville and that you’re running the 4-Miler! We should definitely get together for a run, and no, you would not slow me down. I am not fast at all!!! Send me an email sometime!

    Jennifer – I’m so sorry about your injuries – they are awful, aren’t they? I’ve been lucky enough to not injure myself terribly, just enough to keep me from running a race and de-rail my training for awhile. Good luck getting back into it!

  19. Aw, thanks for the little shout-out. Returning to running is a huge thing – as I’m sure you can remember from my post near the half marathon. Although I’ve been running since I was 15, things had gotten to the point where I didn’t even know if I was still a runner because I wasn’t doing it regularly enough….

    Nevertheless, I know you can do a longer race! You are determined!

    (PS: Will you be in Cville this weekend? We’re thinking of driving down for a day… maybe.)

  20. WOW, these look amazing Bella. I love the peach addition.

    zesty

  21. These look great. I struggle with wanting to have good breakfasts after my Saturday long runs, but not wanting to have to wait that long to eat.

    Quick question: Adding the yeast to cold ingredients doesn’t prevent it from activating?

  22. These pancakes looks just gorgeous! They must have tasted just that much better after a long run! Way to get things done on Sunday! Such an inspiration!

  23. Rose – Thanks for the encouragement! Yes, we’re in C’ville this weekend! Send me an email!

    Zesty and Joy – Thanks so much!

    Kate – Thank you! I have the same problem. About the yeast – I’m sure the cold ingredients and then time immediately in the fridge slowed down the activation. For the amount of yeast in the dough, it doesn’t rise nearly as much as you would think. If you want even fluffier pancakes, I’d suggest letting your milk and egg warm to almost room temperature, then let it sit for 30 minutes or so to rise on the counter before refrigerating. These were still fluffy following Vegan Yum-Yum’s instructions, but I liked them just as much for the yeast flavor as for the rise.

  24. Mmm.. these look heavenly!! Sooo scrumptious! Going to have to try these out soon!

    ~Carla~
    http://www.operationmuffintop.wordpress.com

  25. Congrats for getting back into running again! I slacked off for a few weeks and just started back this week and it feels great to be able to run 3 miles (and torch 300 cals in the process) nonstop 🙂 goes to show that I’m not that out of shape 🙂 yay for pancakes and limited animal products!!!!

    I made fried rice last night too! mine didn’t look nearly as yummy as yours although the entire pan got devoured by 5 people so Ig uess it was good? LOL

  26. Pingback: the best of summer « bella eats

  27. Your pancakes are so pretty! Yum – coming home and eating these for breakfast has to great running inspiration!

  28. Umm, those are GORGEOUS. And I’m glowing over the li’l link you put to my half-marathon…I must’ve missed it originally because I was diving into crazy wedding/book-writing mode and stopped reading blogs. Stupid Wiggs.

    Anyway, I want to hear more about how your running is going! I will say this – I also don’t really like running, but I do it for the food I get to eat. Also, remember our little plan to get comfortable in our own skin? I FINALLY feel that way…it just took 13 miles to get there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

