their newest fan

Do you ever have nights when you just don’t feel like spending a lot of time in the kitchen? I know you do. I can usually tell early in the afternoon when it is going to be one of those nights because I am  either dreading the process of preparing what we’ve got on the menu or I have no interest in thinking about something to cook. Leftovers come in handy on such nights as do Amy’s pizzas stashed in the freezer. Sometimes a quick batch of guacamole won’t seem too daunting and Brian and I will spend the evening snacking on seven-layer dip, other times we resort to picking up the phone and ordering various tofu dishes from our favorite Chinese take-out place. But my favorite no-effort meal is, by far, of the crusty loaf of bread, hard cheese and simple salad variety.

I was in one of these moods on Sunday after arriving home from the cabin. We’d spent the weekend cooking in a foreign kitchen for extra people – which was a blast – but by the time we got back to our own house and unloaded the car and the coolers of leftover food I knew that there would be no cooking happening that evening.  Even so, a grocery trip was on the afternoon agenda so that I could pick up necessary ingredients to eventually make this and these for Meghann’s blogger bake sale [during which she made an incredible amount of money and exceeded her fundraiser goal by over $1000!!!].  I hadn’t made a menu for the week so spent the first 10 minutes or so wandering through the produce department looking for inspiration.  And I saw these:

radishes

Radishes and I don’t have much of a history.  In fact, until Sunday, I didn’t think that I even liked radishes.  But as I stood in front of the deep scarlet globes in the middle of a very busy produce department and racked my brain trying to think of why I didn’t like them I could not come up with one recollection of ever actually eating a radish.  Maybe once or twice, shaved over baby greens on a salad, but never on their own or displayed proudly and prominently as a key ingredient in a dish.   And, since I’d been reading Molly’s book while in West Virginia and had come across this recipe, I decided it was time to give the bright red beauties a fair review.

radishes-2

I even, coincidentally, picked up Plugra.  The same salted European butter that Molly recommends on Orangette for this very treat, although I didn’t know it at the time.  Armed with a French baguette I arrived home and happily announced to Brian and our last lingering house guest that we would be having sliced, salted radishes on fresh bread for dinner, along with a salad.  Though they weren’t convinced at first (and we did add a hunk of fresh sheep’s milk cheese from the local farmer’s market to the mix, separate from the radish ensemble) they came around after the first bite.  For thinly sliced radishes with delicately shaved butter and sea salt on a fresh baguette is a delicious combination.  Truly.

radishes-5

So impressed was I with my first official radish experience that I came home from the office today to make a salad with radishes for lunch, stopping first at the local market for an avocado.  I made this soup [scroll to bottom] for dinner last night and knew that it was destined to be my mid-day meal, but couldn’t resist the urge for fresh Spring greens to accompany it.  A quick search on epicurious for a good radish salad [remember, I’m new to them] yielded this recipe. The avocado and fresh cilantro seemed to be the perfect compliment for the radishes and ultimately my spicy tomato-based soup, and I wasn’t disappointed. Oh radish, I’m your newest fan.

radishes-3

The recipe describes a lovely presentation for the salad on the plate, but in the name of time [and simplicity], I just dumped everything in a bowl.  It was still delicious, although the display would be lovely if you have the time.

Radish and Avocado Salad with Fresh Cilantro
modified from epicurious

serves 2

Ingredients:

  • leafy green lettuce, such as butter or bibb
  • 1 ripe avocado, peeled, pitted and sliced
  • 4 medium radishes, halved and sliced thinly
  • 2 tbsp fresh cilantro leaves
  • 1 tbsp minced shallot
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp cabernet vinegar (I’m out of champagne vinegar, which the recipe calls for)
  • 2 tsp dijon mustard

Whisk last 4 ingredients together to make dressing.  Divide first 4 ingredients into 2 bowls and drizzle dressing on top.

The recipe describes a lovely presentation for the salad on the plate, but in the name of time [and simplicity], I just dumped everything in a bowl.  It was still delicious, although the display would be nice if you have the time.

radishes-4

34 responses to “their newest fan

  1. I love radishes, they always add so much colour and vibrance to salads.

  2. I don’t [think I] like radishes, but I want to eat this!

  3. I’ve loved radishes ever since my freshman year of college, when I found a radish in the pocket of my swim parka and in a drunken moment of stupidity ate it.

  4. Ah, that salad looks good. If only I didn’t hate radishes. Hate.

    Avocado is welcome any day though.

    ((Amy’s pizzas)) So good.

    Love your blog!

  5. I will have to give radishes a try when they hit the farmer’s market this season. I used to love looking at the vibrant colors but never bought them.

  6. Love the radish-breads! I definitely have nights when I don’t want to cook. That’s what frozen Trader Joe’s meals come in handy.

  7. I love radishes but for some reason I’ve NEVER thought of pairing them with bread. Gotta love learning from the blog world!

  8. I don’t think I like radishes either, but you make them look real gooood.

  9. Hey, I just wanna say that I LOOOOOOVE your blog. I found it through simply vegetarian. (: Your blog is my favorite!!! LOOOOOOVE it. FRICKEN AWESOME!! (: (: oh and by the way, that salad looks amazing! im going to make it Thursday night!

  10. I’ve never had a radish but you make me want to try one!

  11. Wow! What a gorgeous meal. I love simple, quick fix, no fuss meals like this!

  12. You know, I’ve never had radishes before – you just reminded me about that, haha 😀 Looks like a lovely dish!!

  13. beautiful!

    I had never tried radishes until a few months ago, but they are GREAT in guacamole. Such peppery spice and a nice crunch.

    Barefoot Contessa has a great looking recipe for seasoned butter/bread and radishes, as well. I haven’t tried it, but it looks awesome.

  14. Oh wow – that salad sounds incredible! I bet the spicy radish and cool avacado were awesome together!!

  15. I’ve always been “meh” on radishes – no love nor hate! But this post reminds me that I should give them another try in my adult life.

    They also have a way of making a salad pop in terms of color.

  16. Rashishes!! They’re a fun change! Love the idea of putting them with cheese and bread 🙂

  17. I haven’t had radishes in a long time, probably not since I moved out of my parents house. Now you have me craving them…mmm.

  18. i love radishes! I should buy them more than I do – the salad looks delish.

  19. love radishes! they are great roasted as well 🙂

  20. Dude! Me too! I always thought I hated them but I don’t know that I’ve actually had one. I’ll have to give it a go.

  21. I adore radishes, but I’ll admit I often forget about them. They are the sort of thing I’ll forget to put on my grocery list, but when I’m offered one I always think “why don’t I buy these more often?”

    Thanks for the reminder of their charms.

  22. This looks amazing! I have not had radishes in forever 🙂

  23. mmmm that salad looks really yummy. I may have to give that a whirl!

  24. I love radishes, however, since I am the only one in my family that likes them, I rarely by them for myself.

    You may have changed my mind to buy them more often!

  25. I have been making this salad forever! I got wind of it through Molly Wizenberg from Orangette. I love the combination of cilantro, avocado, and radishes. I even add feta and dried zante currants.

    Great to have found your blog!

  26. i havent had radishes in forever! great to see them being used in multiple canvases (like its art eh??).. i’ll have to pick some up at the store!

  27. this salad looks AMAZING. i’m saving the recipe. & the bread! yum yum yum.

  28. Since I didn’t win your bread, I think there is not other option then to make some myself. I mean how can I not after viewing THAT amazing loaf of goodness?

    I’ve never really big a fan of radishes, maybe I’ll give them other shot.

  29. It has been such a long time since I had a radish. I don’t remember what they taste like! LOL!

  30. Oh do I ever have those nights often!! Sometimes I spend all day in the kitchen baking and the last thing I want to do is cook dinner. It gets the best of us!

    great salad!

  31. I agree with the radish comments above- I cant remember when the last time I had them was- probably in those bagged salad mixes in university! haha

  32. I can say I haven’t put radishes in my cart at the store EVER! I think I like them too.

    That was really creative making those radishes and cheese on the bread, it looked so good!

    Now, I am going to add them to my shopping list next week!

  33. Pingback: Goin’ on a Blog Hunt « The Beholder

  34. Pingback: Green Garlic Pesto « Whitney in Chicago

Leave a Reply

