bridging the gap

We’re almost there!  The cherry and plum trees are starting to flower, the crocus and daffodils are up, gardens are being prepped for planting.  Daylight Savings Time means there is light when I leave the office, and I’ve been taking advantage of our lovely weather with evening runs both yesterday and today (I’m feeling very well-prepared for the 8K on Saturday!!!).  Spring is just around the corner and I couldn’t be more excited.   The change in seasons has me craving lighter foods but also has inspired me to clean out my pantry, to use up the winter-worthy ingredients that are dwindling in quantity and make way for those that come with spring.  

scone-1

Among the items found?  Crystalized ginger, dried cranberries, a bowl full of oranges.  Okay, so the oranges were on my table, not in the pantry, but to me they make the perfect bridge from winter to spring.  You see, I grew up in Florida, where winter citrus is abundant as are 80* December days.  I’ve never associated oranges with cold weather and probably never will.  And who doesn’t think of warm, tropical places when biting into a juicy orange?  Anybody? The power of positive thinking will get you far and I am determined that my bowlful of cheery oranges will carry Virginia straight into Spring without another winter storm.  🙂

scone-2

On Sunday morning while perusing my pantry I was dreaming of baked goods, as is often the case, and thought of one I hadn’t made in awhile.  Scones.

scone-3

For years I wasn’t a fan of scones.  Those I had tried were dry and crumbly, with nondescript flavors that left them completely unmemorable.  Until one fateful Friday morning when a friend shared her daughter’s fresh-baked scones at an office meeting, and I was hooked.  Soft and supple, moist and flakey, the mix-in possibilities were endless.  I knew I had to have the recipe, and lucky for me she shared.

scone-4

The basic recipe for these scones was given to me years ago and I’ve been trying different variations ever since.  Many different flours have made it into the experiments, all-purpose, bread, white whole wheat and whole wheat included.  The whole wheat pastry flour is my favorite.  It gives the scones the fluffier texture found when using the all-purpose, but leaves you with a happier conscience after having one for breakfast.

scone-6

Citrus Scones with Cranberries and Ginger

makes 8 scones

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 tsp orange extract
  • 3 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1-1/2 tsp orange zest
  • 8 tbsp cold, unsalted butter, cut up
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I used turbinado), plus extra for sprinkling
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup crystalized ginger, chopped

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 375*.  Spray a baking sheet with oil.
  2. Mix buttermilk with egg and extract, whisk smooth.
  3. Sift flour, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.  Add orange zest.  Stir to mix well.  Add butter and rub in with your fingers until the mixture looks like course bread crumbs.  Add sugar, cranberries and ginger and toss to distribute evenly.
  4. Add egg mixture and stir with a fork until a soft dough forms.
  5. Turn out dough on a floured board and give 5-6 kneads, just until well mixed and cohesive.  Flatten dough into disk about 3/4″ thick.  Cut disk into 8 equal wedges.
  6. Bake on prepared baking sheet for 20-25 minutes until medium brown.  Let cool on sheet for 5 minutes before moving to wire rack to cool completely.

scone-7

For another Bella Eats scone variation, click here.

Thank you all for the great feedback regarding future bella terra posts.  I’m really excited!  🙂  I hope to answer all of your questions in posts over the next few months…you’ve given me some great ideas.

And, a thousand Thank You’s for all of your kind words and good thoughts towards Kelly and her recovery.  She is home and healing and we are all so thankful that she was wearing a helmet.  For those of you who doubt the importance of wearing one, read this post.

Be sure to check out Heather’s blog for an exciting Coconut Milk Product Giveaway!  I’ve been dying to try this stuff…

And last…my new job is awesome!!!  I’ve only been there two days but I am LOVING it so far.  Yay!  🙂

Have a great Wednesday everybody!

51 responses to “bridging the gap

  1. Wow those scones look absolutely delicious. I too was always afraid of baking scones, because I thought they would come out too dry. You have definitely persuaded me to try and bake some soon!

    Congrats on the job!!

    I am so happy that Kelly is doing well 🙂 Thank god for that helmet! I will ALWAYS wear one!

  2. Those scones look fabulous – I have only tried a few scones that I like, but these look amazing. Thanks for sharing! Also glad to hear Kelly is doing well.

  3. I LOVE SCONES. Ever since I had them at the state fair as a kid with raspberry jam and butter, I’ve been smitten. I’ve never had a healthy version that I was crazy about, but if anyone can do it, its you!

    I’m so glad that your job is going well so far and also that Kelly is doing better too.

  4. My recent discovery of scones pairs with my additional discovery of clotted cream – two essentials to the English classic, “cream tea.” The English are boring, though. While there’s something nice about the simplicity of a plain scone topped with clotted cream and jam, sometimes I’d rather have the scone stand on its own. This recipe sounds like it, and I love that you’re using whole wheat flour (it will soften the blow when I add the cream =).

  5. I am a big fan of ginger & dried cranberries, so this scone recipe definitely sounds good to me! It’s great that the whole wheat pastry flour is successful in this recipe – it’s my favorite baking flour.

    Glad to hear about Kelly’s recovery & your new job – congrats!

  6. I am so glad you are liking the new job! The scones look fantastic! I love crystallized ginger and cranberries, I bet they taste great in your scones!

  7. Mmmm, I love scones, even the dry and crumbly one. Your recipe sounds fantastic, I can’t wait to give it a try!

  8. you say you have things blooming, and you made scones… amazing!! Glad youre liking your new job, makes such a difference in everyday life!

  9. Those scones are gorgeous! I love the flavor combination and the last picture just looks so moist and airy inside. Mmm.

  10. Lovely scones!!

    Can’t wait to see more photos of the garden 🙂

    So exciting about the upcoming 8K!!

  11. Beautiful scones! So elegant. And so glad you are loving your job!!

  12. Hooray for the new job! And feeling ready for the 8K. Hope you report back about how it goes!

  13. yummy scones 🙂 SO glad to hear kelly’s doing well. and very great about the new job!!

  14. Mmm I love scones! Those look so good!

  15. Wow! Those scones look delicious!!

  16. I never liked scones until I worked in a coffee shop and got to eat the leftover baked goods 🙂 This recipe looks phenomenal! Oh, and I didn’t get to comment on the last post, but I think the bella terra idea is wonderful! SO happy the new job is workin’ for ya!

  17. yay on the new job! I’m so glad to hear that you love it already 🙂

  18. Your baked goods always look incredible. I love scones!

  19. OMG. You just completely debunked my fear of scones. Seeing them cut like that for some reason takes the intimidation away. I have always had a fear on having to shape them! Thanks!

  20. I’m so glad to hear Kelly is doing well!

    I wouldn’t mind some nicer weather here in VA! I don’t know how much longer I can take 70 one day, and 30 the next.

    I hope the new job continues to go well!

  21. I became a fan of scones later in life, too, but now that I’ve discovered them, they are so addicting! lol. I’ve never had one with crystalized ginger, but I bet that tastes amazing! They certainly look it! 🙂

  22. Those scones are beautiful.

    So glad you’re liking the new job 🙂

  23. Yummy looking scones. I need to pick up some whole wheat pastry flour. I am slowly getting a wide assortment in my “pantry”.

  24. Andrea,
    So glad you are loving the new job – I was wondering how it was going.

    Your posts are like a story book. I love them – your descriptions and the pictures. Both beautiful. I swear you should write AND take pictures for magazines. You truly have a gift.

    Good to know there are good scones out there as I’ve never had one that really won me over. Maybe I should try making my own?

    Thanks for the link love. 🙂

    I can’t believer your 8K is already this weekend! Wow, where does the time go?

  25. Andrea,
    So glad you are loving the new job – I was wondering how it was going.

    Your posts are like a story book. I love them – your descriptions and the pictures. Both beautiful. I swear you should write AND take pictures for magazines. You truly have a gift.

    Good to know there are good scones out there as I’ve never had one that really won me over. Maybe I should try making my own?

    Thanks for the link love. 🙂

    I can’t believe your 8K is already this weekend! Wow, where does the time go?

  26. I need to try to make these scones from scratch. I also need to try and not eat the whole batch once I make them. 😉

    The whole Kelly situation was so scary. it’s amazing how the internet connects us all so we immediately know what’s going on and how scary it is. My Dad told me your Dad had called him that night. I need to give you my cell phone number so if anything happens again you can just call me directly. You should have seen everyone at the hospital, we had a full house in the Truma Center! You know how my family rolls though.

  27. Those scones sound fabulous! I’m so glad Kelly is recuperating safe and sound at home!! Also, I’m glad to hear your job is going well 🙂

  28. Your scones look amazing! Love the photography.
    So glad to hear you’re loving your new job!! Job happiness makes a world of difference.

  29. what a lovely and positive post! I’m glad things are going so well! I can’t express my happiness that Kelly is okay, such a miracle.

  30. So glad you love the new job!! Hasn’t the weather been fab for running outside? I adore it!

    I signed up for the Marth Jefferson 8K this week! I will be the slow one in the back!! hahaha (This is so embarassing!! I’ve WON races before!! Oh well I’m sure it will be a blast!:-D)

  31. Yay for the new job!

    Your scones look really incredible. I didn’t like them when I was little, but now they top my favorite breakfast baked goods. Love the ginger!

  32. I love scones – haven’t made them in such a long time though – thanks for the inspiration!

    Glad the job is going well too!

  33. YAY! So happy to hear the new job is going well. Write when you can – did you see I was officially cute! OMG!

    I always had the same impression of scones so maybe I’ll have to try these. The ones I’ve always had just seem to suck the moisture out of your mouth and are dry and crumby and VOID OF FUN!

  34. I may have to give your scone recipe a try, because EVERY TIME I try to make scones, they come out like hockey pucks! LOL

  35. Yaaay! So glad you enjoy your new job!

  36. 2 days in a row on tastespotting.com! Awesome! They look phenomenal! Glad to hear that the new job is going well so far! Good luck w/ the 8k!

  37. Oh, my gaw, those scones made my stomach rumble! Makes me wish I were back in Wales again and could order a sweet cream high tea! I was SURE that I would win the delicious award for the cupcakes I blogged about today…but I think you beat me. 🙂

    I’m glad you love your job. I’ve found that my gut reaction – good or bad – about a new position almost always proves true. So happy for you!

  38. Scones make me sooo happy.

    NAOmni

  39. I wish I had time to make these for this weekend!!!!

  40. yum yum yum!!!! love your photos too

  41. I’ve only made scones once and they were chocolate peanut butter scones… I thought they were the best thing ever! Haha. Is it too late to buy crystalized ginger to make these? I know you’re trying to get rid of yours, getting ready for spring, but these sound amazing!

  42. I need to make these ASAP!!!

  43. Thanks for the scone recipe! I Heart scones very very very much! Yay for the new job:)

  44. Mmm…Love the look of those! I just made silverbeet and feta scones with the base recipe you posted…wish me luck!

    Also, your site is fantastic, I’ve added it to my blogroll 🙂

  45. I love scones!

    I am glad you’re liking your new job. Good luck in the 10k this weekend (if I don’t get to “talk” to you before then)!

  46. ahh those scones sound incred!!

    go glad the new job is going well. and yayyyy, you’re going to blow that 8k out of the water!

  47. I just came across your blog and it is fantastic! Those scones look absolutely amazing!

    http://www.innerwellness.wordpress.com

  48. These look awesome!!! SOOO GOOD!

  49. Pingback: a homemade…lemon yogurt cake « bella eats

  50. Pingback: The magic of scones…with more silverbeet, and feta of course. « Student kitchens

  51. I just made these and substited 1 1/2 cups of flour with rolled oats instead! SOOO GOOOD. Instead of making 8 big scones I made little mini ones…it’s SO GOOOOOOOOOD! And the recipe is easy from all the other scone recipes I’ve seen!!

    This recipe is definitely a keeper!! THANKS!

Leave a Reply

