cabernet + apple slaw

Have I mentioned how much I love this community?  Because I do.  You all are so kind!  Thank you for all of your sweet comments and concern – you have no idea how much I appreciate it.  

I’m sorry for my doom and gloom post yesterday, and for leaving you all hanging.  I’ve spent the weekend going over things with my hubb and am feeling much better about the whole situation.  I should know more tomorrow or Tuesday and can share then, but I’m starting to see the positive side of things and do believe that everything will be for the better.

Most of my eats this weekend weren’t that exciting…some leftover red beans, some Five Guys (I know…shocking!!!  My once every 6 months burger…), banana pancakes and lots of Ben + Jerry’s.  Can we say comfort food?!?!?  But I did spend this afternoon in the kitchen making my hubb’s birthday cake (which I will share with you tomorrow!) some potato salad for a pot luck dinner (which I will also share sometime this week) and this yummy cabbage + apple slaw, which paired perfectly with the bratwurst my hubb pan-fried for sandwiches.

090301-d1

I haven’t done much with cabbage in the past…mixed it with greens in salads, boiled it down with potatoes, carrots and ham for a New England Boiled Dinner, shredded it up to make a filling for  potstickers.  Although slaw is an obvious use for cabbage I have somehow managed to escape these last few years without ever experimenting with it.

090301-d3

I’ve seen a few cabbage slaw recipes pop up in the blog world over the last couple of weeks, but decided to try out my own.  We had some bratwurst in our freezer from Babes in the Wood, and my hubb was just saying that we don’t make sandwiches for dinner often enough.  I grabbed a couple of apples from our fruit bowl and the open bottle of cabernet on the counter.  I was hoping for something sweet and tangy, a nice compliment to the spiciness of the brats and the dijon mustard I knew my hubb would pair with them.

090301-d4

Oh sweet [and tangy] success.  This sandwich was so delicious and satisfying, and the slaw was the star of the show.  I suggest a ciabatta roll and butternut squash fries on the side…YUM.

090301-d6

Cabernet + Apple Slaw

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 head of red cabbage, about 2 pounds
  • 1 large onion, halved and thinly sliced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 medium tart apples, thinly sliced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup dry red wine
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • salt + pepper

Method:

  1. Remove all tough outer leaves.  Quarter cabbage through stem, remove core of cabbage.  Slice cabbage into thin strips.
  2. Heat oil in large soup pot.  Add onion and saute until tender and golden, 5-6 minutes.  Add sliced apples and saute an additional 2 minutes.  Add garlic and saute an additional 1 minute.
  3. Add cabbage, cover and saute for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  
  4. Add wine, cover and saute for an additional 10 minutes.  When cabbage is tender, remove lid and turn up heat to cook off the last of the liquid.
  5. Remove from heat and toss cabbage mixture with vinegar and salt + pepper to taste.
  6. Top with toasted pine nuts.

090301-d7

Tomorrow is my hubb’s birthday and we’re having a little party at his office.  I am so excited to try the cake I baked today…my first ever from-scratch, made on my own cake.  Only the best for my love.  Here’s a little preview…

cake-13

That’s raspberry puree’ oozing from between layers of decadent chocolate cake.  And right after I took this picture I covered the whole thing with chocolate ganache.   Oh yes I did.  🙂

Have a lovely Monday, everybody!

42 responses to “cabernet + apple slaw

  1. The cake looks good! Very beautiful, especially for your first one. Happy Birthday (early) to your hubby.

  2. Glad you’re able to keep a positive attitude! I truly hope everything works out for the best. 🙂

    That cake looks heavenly! I love Five Guys too.

  3. wow, fantastic cake!!

  4. That slaw looks delicious. And wow, that cake!! I can’t wait to see what the finished product looks like.

  5. That cake looks amazing. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

  6. Ha i hadn’t eaten beef in 10 years and one of my first burgers was from 5 Guys. And that cake looks AWESOME!

  7. That cake is seriously the most beautiful baked good I’ve ever seen!

  8. Doesn’t it feel so good to make a cake from scratch? Even though my first try wasn’t a 100% success, it felt way better than making something out of a box.

    I hope you have a good Monday tomorrow but whatever happens, I’m sure it will be for the best!

  9. I’m glad things are a little better..or at least Ben and Jerry’s MADE them better 😀 Have a great week and that cake….AMAZING!!

  10. Wow – such good eats here. Thanks for posting the recipe for the sandwich. I love the colors – it definitely pops – just like the cake.

  11. I’m going to try that cabbage slaw recipe when my gut agrees to it. I found some Morningstar veggie Italian sausages the other day, crazy, eh?

    The cake looks gorgeous even though it’s naked. Or maybe because its naked 😉 Growwwww.

    Good luck with the news tomorrow, sweet girl and happy birthday hubs.

  12. Your husband is a very lucky individual. That cake is gorgeous! Again, I hope everything with the news works itself out!

  13. BEAUTIFUL cake, I can only imagine how much MORE of a knockout it was with the chocolate ganache! MMMm Lucky husband!
    Happy Birthday to you hubby!! 🙂

  14. So glad the weekend helped clear your head a bit. I hope your meetings go well over the next two days. Keep us all posted. We’re here for you. Can’t wait to see the finished cake!!!!

    XOXO,
    Christina

  15. What a FANTASTIC looking cake!! I can’t wait to see the recipe! (Oh, and my husband’s birthday is tomorrow). 🙂

  16. AMAZING EATS!!!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOUR HUSBAND!!

  17. The color of that cabbage is gorgeous. I’m glad to hear that you’re finding a silver lining in tough times… that takes strength, so you must have it!

    The birthday cake looks to-die-for delicious! My fiance and I have decided to have a chocolate cake with raspberry mousse at our wedding – those flavors go so well together. Can’t wait to see the final product.

  18. Oh my gosh that cake. Beautiful as always!

  19. Glad you are seeing the positive side.

    That cake is GORGEOUS!

  20. aww I was thinking of you this weekend! I’m glad you are feeling a bit better.
    the dinner looks soooo good! I’d love to make that slaw sometime

  21. Fabulous Slaw recipe and gorgeous cake!!!

    Happy Birthday to the Hubby!=)

  22. happy birthday to your hub! that cake looks AMAZING. I love chocolate and raspberry together.

    Yay for 5 Guys! I haven’t been there in a while.

  23. what a beautiful cake! can i come to the party? 😉

    yumm, slaw on focaccia bread!

  24. when I ate meat – I LOVED five guys!!!

    that cake – oh I can’t wait for the recipe to be posted!!

  25. I was out of town all weekend and am just catching up with blogs. Hope all turns out ok at work! I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you. 🙂

  26. Oh my gosh Andrea, that cake looks amazing. AMAZING!

    Loved your apple slaw recipe. So simple.

    Stay positive my friend. Everything shall work out as it is meant to be. 🙂

  27. Sweet and Fit

    Happy Birthday to you hubby! that cake looks so good! I cant wait to see it with ganache =)

  28. I cook with cabbage all the time, but never red cabbage. I’ve been wanting to try it though and this looks right up my alley. Maybe with a veggie burger instead of a brat. 🙂

    Cake looks beautiful btw. Let us know how it tastes!

  29. Way to stay positive! As my mom always says…everything will work out in the end!

    And, oh my, that cake looks fabulous — even without frosting!

  30. your dinner is gorgeous, but ohhhhh, that cake!!!! send me a slice?

    glad you’re feeling more hopeful. things always work out!

  31. That cake = phenomenal!

    Hope everything is going okay today (and tomorrow) at work!!

  32. hope everything works out with your job. the cake looks incredible.

  33. Mmm, chocolate raspberry cake is my favorite. That looks great. I can’t wait to see the post about it! And I love the idea for the coleslaw.

    Thanks for linking to my blog under “mouth watering eats”! I’m so flattered!

  34. Hi, just dropping by…that red cabbage slows looks great, I want to try it out…I never know what to make with cabbage!

  35. What a beautiful cake! I love the combo of chocolate and raspberry.

  36. Good luck with everything! Your pics are delicious looking!

    Oh, and the boyfriend is a huge five guys fan…although I went in with him once and was quite impressed…

    NAOmni

  37. Nice job on the cake!!!! Love the raspberry oozing out of the layers! And I can’t think of anything more decadent and wonderful than chocolate ganache! I’m about to go to bed, and I will probably dream about that cake 🙂

  38. runningwithfood

    Whoa, girl. So far your cake looks amazing! Can’t wait to see the finished product!!

    Have a great day! Happy birthday to your hubby!

  39. ooo, I want to see the finished cake product… insert drooling Goldie here!

  40. that cake looks beautiful! im sorry about the weekend, i go thru the same stressful thinking sometimes myself.. and it can get overwhelming – but im glad you and your hub were able to work thru it together!

  41. Pingback: from scratch « bella eats

  42. That is a gorgeous, gorgeous cake! You should be so proud.
    Sorry about your bad news, but good luck with everything!
    Sarah
    http://sarahdbelle.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

