bad news, bears

Well…I got some bad news at work yesterday that’s got me freakin’ out quite a bit.  I can’t share until I know a little more about what’s going on.  Needless to say, I spent the evening talking things through with my hubb, a bottle of malbec and two pints of Ben + Jerry.  (Don’t worry, we didn’t finish them both, we just passed the two flavors back and forth a few times.  I wasn’t THAT depressed…).

I’m going to do a quickity quick recap because I’m off to yoga in a few.  I’m defnitely needing some mind-clearing and meditation this morning…

Breakfast:  cereal!  Shocking, I know.  I had 1/2 cup of TJ’s Pomegranate Blueberry Flakes mixed with 3/4 cup of Nature’s Path Pumpkin Flax (finally, the last of it!!!), topped with 1/2 a sliced banana, 1/4 cup frozen mixed berries and 1 cup plain soy milk.

[488 cal]

090227-b1

This did not stick with me AT ALL.  I was hungry by 9:30am, at which point I caved to the homemade donut guy who sets up his cart right outside my office on Fridays.  Totally unfair.

Mid-Morning Snack:  homemade apple cinnamon donut – DIVINE!

Lunch:  out with a friend!  We went to my favorite lunch spot, Bizou, where I had the Salmon Cakes with baby greens and a side of hand-cut fries.  Not the healthiest choice…it was definitely one of those days.

Sorry for all the missing pictures – you know I don’t like taking photos out in public or at my office…

Dinner:  red beans and rice!  Also, cornbread.  Continuing the NOLA love…

090227-d1

I was a really bad photo documenter because I was busy freaking out about the work situation with my hubb…

090227-d2

But there was wine, a really tasty Malbec.

090227-d3

This recipe is really easy, its basically the same recipe I use for most of my bean soups.  The spices just get switched up a bit.  Sorry…no time to plug in nutritional stats in MFD.  I’ll update this afternoon.

Red Beans and Rice

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb dried red beans, soaked over night (or all day while at work)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, chopped
  • 6-8 cups of chicken broth (start with 6 and add if you need to as the beans continue to soak up the water)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp fresh thyme (dried is fine, too)
  • 1 lb sausage (I used sweet italian because its what I had, but I would typically get andouille), chopped
  • salt + pepper

Method:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large soup pot.  Seriously, thats it.  I bring it all to a boil, then reduce to a strong simmer and cover.  It should cook for 1-2 hours, until the beans are soft but not falling apart.
  2. Once soft, ladle out about 2 cups of beans and broth.  I try to avoid getting any sausage.  Place the two cups in a blender and puree, then add back to pot.  This will thicken the soup.
  3. Serve over rice.

090227-d4

090227-d6

Dessert:  my two best friends, Ben + Jerry.  Cookie Dough and Half Baked flavors.  Maybe 1 cup?  Or 1-1/2?  Its hard to tell when you’re spooning out of the carton.  Yes, it was necessary.  🙂

Alright, I’m off for some stretchy meditation.  Have a great Saturday!

34 responses to “bad news, bears

  1. I’m sorry you got such bad news, I hope things get better soon!

    Love the cereal mix and the cornbread…I always crave cornbread at the most randoms times. haha

  2. Hey there, i’m a new reader!!
    I hope everything at work turns out okay…
    Have a restful weekend.

    Your photos are beautiful by the way!

    Leah

    Simply Fabulous Now

  3. I really hope things are OK…

  4. Im so sorry about the bad news! HUGS!!!! I do hope whatever it is, that it works out 🙂

    Yummy eats though!!! mmmmmmmmm

  5. I hope it all turns out ok for you!!

  6. I hope everything is o.k. Know that we are thinking of you and sending positive vibes your way girl!

  7. Feel free to contact me at anytime for extra support, Andrea!!

  8. Uh-oh! I hope the news turns out to be better than you though. (You said you need to figure out more of what’s going on?) I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

  9. HUGS! Hope everything turns out ok… my best friends used to be Ben and Jerry Karamel Sutra…

  10. Oh my, I hope everything works out ok!

  11. Ohno! I hope you can make things work out! (I like to think they always do in the end anyways…) Hopefully yoga will help you relax and clear your head.

  12. I hope your day improves!!

  13. Sorry to hear you got bad news. I hope everything works out!

  14. I hope things work out! Enjoy yoga 🙂

    Half baked is my favorite!

  15. hope everything works out!

  16. Sorry that you had such a bad friday! I’m sure everything will work out for the best in the long run.

    It really seems like everyone is being touched by the economy in some way. Truly very scary.

    Hope you are having a relaxing Saturday morning. I need to workout today too, the end of the week has just taken me out of the workout mood.

  17. omg after last sunday and my 9 1/2 mile run me and my besties split a carton of cookie dough and half baked (my fav) 🙂 soo good!

  18. I’m sorry to hear about the bad news… but I’m glad you found some good comfort food to get you by. Cornbread is one of my favorites. Good luck!

  19. Oh my gosh I’m sorry about the bad news! I hope it all works itself out! In other news, Malbec and B&J are awesome coping mechanisms- yummm!

  20. Half Baked is the all time best! Did you know they make it in a fro yo which is pretty awesome too and a little easier on the caboose. haha. I totally had a vent session with my boyfriend to last night which ended in YogurtLand. 😉
    I hope everything gets better.

  21. Andrea, so sorry about the bad news, but I’m glad you loved on Ben & Jerry. Sometimes, we just need some Half Baked in our lives!

    Yoga will be good for your soul today. I’m thinking of you and sending you a hug from Nashville.

    PS – Regarding your breakfast of cereal. Cereal NEVER sticks with me unless I add protein in fat. For instance, I’ll eat it with cottage cheese and nut butter. Definitely helps to keep me full. That being said, glad you enjoyed the apple cinnamon donut. 🙂

  22. Hey! Send me an email when you can — similar to what’s going on with me? Hope things felt clearer in the morning. 😦

  23. so glad you’ve got the support of b, j, and the hub. good luck with whatever the news is. things will get better, and you’ll work something out!

  24. sorry about the bad news! at least you know that ben n’ jerry will always be there for you when ya need em’ =)

  25. sorry about the bad news…sometimes ben+jerry and a bottle of malbec are the way to go. but i hope everything works out ok

  26. sorry you got some bad news! i hope it gets better soon though!

    and b&j will always make you smile…;)

  27. Oh Andrea. I’m sad because you’re sad.

    I don’t know what your news is, but I can just tell you that leaving my job four years ago was one of the best things that ever happened to me.

    You are SO talented, I have to believe that whatever is in your future, wherever that may be, you will be successful at. The trick is to combine that success with something YOU love.

    Red wine and cookie dough. Get out. Or come over. And share.

  28. The apple cinnamon doughnut sounds awesome!

    I’m sorry to hear about the bad news at work, and hope that things work out.

  29. Whatever the news is, I hope everything works out for the best. I truly believe that things happen for a reason and finding the silver lining is sometimes hard but you are smart and talented so I’m sure you will.

  30. I am sorry to hear you’ve got some bad news. I hope everything works out.

    You’re going to have to get another donut soon. A picture is required!

    Thank you for the red beans recipe. 😀

  31. Sorry about your scary news – I really hope everything works out!

  32. I hope you’re feeling better, and whatever the news was works itself out!

  33. oh no, I hope the work situation isn’t too grave……

    mmm you picked the best ben & jerry’s flavors!

  34. sorry about your bad news, but your food still looks divine! i love malbec wine!! and ben and jerry are some of my best friends, too. nice flavor choices 🙂

Leave a Reply

