my next race!

Its Thursday!!!  I am SO ready for this weekend.  I feel like I haven’t had a chance to slow down and hang out with my hubb in weeks…we are in need of some quality time!  I’m picturing movies, pop corn, yoga and running.  And as a bonus, some good friends are in town and I believe we have plans for brunch on Sunday.  Aaaahhh…I feel content just thinking about it.   🙂

But first, today’s recap.

Breakfast:  fig + peanut butter oats

[419 cal]

090226-b1

090226-b2

Reader Lindsey asked me to tell a bit more about my oats process in the morning.  So, here goes!  Toppings and mix-ins change, but this classic bowl seems to be one I come back to over and over again.

Fig + PB Oats

[400-ish calories, 15.8g fat, 2.2g sat. fat, 58.3g carbs, 9.5g fiber, 18.8g sugar, 13g protein]

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1 cup water, pinch of salt
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1 tbsp soy milk
  • 1 tsp ground flax seeds
  • 2 dried figs, chopped
  • 1-1/2 tbsp crunchy PB

Method:

  1. Bring 1 cup of water to a boil.  Add pinch of salt and 1/2 cup of rolled oats. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium and simmer, stirring occasionally.
  2. When the oats have absorbed most of the water, after 5-7 minutes, turn off the heat.  Add the mashed banana and splash of soy milk.  Stir.  Ad the flax seeds, stir.
  3. Pour oats into bowl and top with mix-ins of choice, mine usually being figs, PB, and wheatberries if I’ve got them.  🙂
  4. After I take my photos I stir everything up so that the peanut butter swirls through the whole mix.  Yum!

090226-b3

My oats stuck with me for about 3 hours today, so I snacked on a piece of banana date bread mid-morning to hold me over ’till lunch an hour later.

Snack:  banana date bread

[143 cal]

090223-date-31

We had lots of leftover gumbo from last nights dinner, but I wasn’t up for a bowl of just gumbo because it was so rich.  I decided to quickly saute’ some kale to use as a base for my gumbo/rice mixture.  It was perfect!

Lunch:  leftover gumbo on sauteed kale.

090226-l1

Snacks:  1 square of dark chocolate and a Clif ZBar, apple cinnamon flavor, pre-run

[200 cal]

090226-s1

Remember my apple incident with my run last week?  Well apparently the upset stomach while running results from apple energy bars too…  It wasn’t as bad today as it was when I ate a whole apple prior to my run, but it still wasn’t pleasant.

Exercise:  4.1 mile run with Kelly

[-420 cal]

We’ve decided to run the Martha Jefferson 8k on March 14th!!!!!  This will be my longest race distance yet!!!!!  I’m super-excited, if you can’t tell by all of the exclamation points.  🙂  We ran most of the race route today and it is H.I.L.L.Y!  You’re probably really tired of me writing that…  It was a really nice run though and I felt completely confident that I could have run the whole route tonight.  I’m going to get a 4-1/2 – 5 mile run in this weekend, and Kelly and I are going to run the whole race route one day next week, along with our normal evening runs.

For dinner my hubb and I had a last-minute meal with Kelly and her husband.  We went to a little Mexican restaurant around the corner from our house and enjoyed good food and great conversation.  I resisted the margarita and stuck with water, along with a veggie quesadilla, a few bites of refried beans and a handful of tortilla chips.  Definitely canceled out the calories burned on my run, and then some!

Dinner:  veggie quesadilla (LOADED with fresh roasted veggies…so good!!!), refried beans and some tortilla chips

[xxx cal????  how about A LOT. ]

Alrighty, I’m off to bed.  T.G.I.F!!!

G’night!

25 responses to “my next race!

  1. How exciting about your upcoming race! I didn’t realize you lived in Virginia…they have some amazing trail runs there. I am living in Maryland, we’re neighbors!

  2. Apples KILL my stomach. I kept eating them because I love them so much, but they just don’t agree with me for some reason!

  3. Andrea – my whole family LOVES your bread!! Pretty sure it won’t last til Sunday!

    Thank you!!

  4. My stomach used to hate apples but I’ve gotten used to them now. Bananas are the same way but I haven’t had one in months.

    FANTASTIC OATS! I need some figs now, mmm.

  5. I am running an 8K at the end of March (Shamrock Shuffle). It was actually my first race last year. It really is a great distance, I think I liked it more than any 5Ks that I ran last year.

  6. That’s weird about your stomach and apples!

    Yay for the Martha Jefferson 8K! I never got to do it, but I love that area around the Downtown Mall in the spring! C’ville is so pretty!

  7. landoffruitsandnuts

    I’ve never heard about the stomach/apple connections but I guess it’s pretty common?
    You made me laugh with the {XXX how about ALOT} I know how you feel! The bread looks amazing & I also was wondering what the salt does to the oatmeal. I have always seen it says to add salt but wasn’t sure if it was for taste or cooking purposes and wondered if you knew.

  8. beautiful breakfast i love your food:)

  9. My stomach has been hating apples ALL the time lately so I totally feel you! I have stomach issues and I was told ONLY to eat bananas, mangos and papayas by my doctor…..maybe something to think about prior to a run???

    Also, as another C’villian, which Mexican/Spanish restaurants do you like? The only one I’m loving is La Cucina Del Sol, but I’d be open to other ideas!! Thanks!

  10. Those oats look wonderful! I’m ready for a relaxing time too!!

  11. Lovely oats and everything else!! 😀

    Hang in there with the cramps while running – maybe you’re eating too close to your run??

  12. How exciting about the race!! All your eats look amazing!

  13. Hooray a new race! And at a distance you’ll enjoy. 🙂

  14. You sound so excited about your race, and I think that’s awesome!

  15. Yay for the new race! That will be great!

  16. very exciting about your upcoming race! mexican food is worth every calorie. 🙂

  17. Congrats on your new race. You definitely seem excited.

    Usually zbars are not bad on my stomach before a run, but I could never eat an apple before. Maybe it is the flavor!

  18. What Mexican place? Sounded good. Two suggestions for quick kale and oatmeal:

    1) kale – dump olive oil, salt and crushed red pepper on it, nuke for 2 minutes. Perfect. (not mushy, still with some meaty crunch)

    2) your oatmeal is GREAT – I use old fashioned oats, and just dump it dry into a tupperware with almond butter, dried apricots, splash of maple syrup, almonds and pumpkin spice. Fill with water and nuke for one minute. Again, perfect 🙂 Not mushy, but with real texture. (by premixing it, I can take it to work. Everyone comments on how good it smells!)

  19. Congrats on the decision to run your next race! That is a great distance and I think you will love it.

    Hmm…the Z bar pre run…think it’s a coincidence that it was an APPLE Z-bar? I’m just sayin’ 😉

    Glad to be back…I’ve missed ya!

  20. Exciting about the new race!! 🙂 🙂
    Yummy oats!

  21. Awesome blog!! I’m so glad you found mine! Instant google reader!

  22. love all the pics of figs. my camera isnt good enough to capture the perfect seedy-ness so well! thanks for the awesome photos 🙂 have a great weekend of relaxation!

  23. Your food pictures and creations are absolutely GOURMET looking! It is great blogs like yours that inspire me to cook my own food rather than spend money out at restaurants! 🙂 Thank you!!

  24. Thanks for the oats tutorial! I’ve been out of town, so I finally got to try them today! I used Old Wessex Ltd 5 Grain Cereal (available at Whole Foods or Integral Yoga in CVille) which has flax already mixed in. I can’t wait to try it again tomorrow!

  25. Pingback: baked oatmeal « bella eats

Leave a Reply

