simple eats

I am really feeling the effects of my super-busy weekend in Florida.  I slept like a rock last night but have been so sleepy all day!  The bath tub and my new Molly Wizenberg (Orangette) book are calling my name, so I’m going to keep this quick.  🙂

Breakfast was oh so tasty…I LOVE pepper jack cheese.

Breakfast:  egg + pepper jack sandwich and strawberries

[362 cal]

090223-b2

  • arnold’s whole grain sandwich thin
  • 1 egg + 1 egg white, scrambled
  • spinach
  • 1 thin slice pepper jack cheese

090223-b1

Lunch was soup-er simple (hehe…I’m a dork).  I’m realizing now that I had spinach with every meal today…thats not such a bad thing!

Lunch: Amy’s lentil veggie soup with spinach mixed in and 3 Back To Nature multigrain flax crackers

[433 cal]

090223-l1

090223-l2

I made a new banana bread recipe today, and I think it is my new favorite.  I wrote about it here, and ate two slices for a snack.  🙂

Snack:  2 slices of banana date bread

[286 cal]

090223-date-6

Exercise:  YOGA!!!  It had been a week since my last class, and I could definitely feel it.  It was still a great 90 minutes of ashtanga though.

[-??? cal…I really need a heart rate monitor]

My poor hubb is working very late tonight, so I was on my own for dinner.  By the time I got home after yoga and some errands all I wanted was a quick and easy meal.  Its really funny to compare how I eat when my hubb isn’t home to how he eats when I’m not home.  You should hear the list of take-out he had the 3 days I was out of town…  I wish he had taken pictures and done his own post on the blog, it would have been hilarious.  🙂

Dinner:  salad and an Arnold’s thin with almond butter and fig preserves

[498 cal]

090223-d3

090223-d2

Alrighty, I am SO excited to read Molly’s book.  She is such a beautiful writer, I know its going to suck me right in!!!

G’night!

26 responses to “simple eats

  1. OMG your breakfast looks so good! I love pepperjack!

    I jsut read your last post too and those are some cute finds you got shopping! I am so due for a good shopping outing!

  2. I love egg and cheese on those sandwich thins. Yum!

  3. Looove pepper jack! Adds a great spice to sandwiches.

  4. Your breakfast looks so good!

    Definitely give us a review of Orangette’s book, I’ve been following her blog forever and wonder if her book is similar!

  5. Let me know how the book is! I have a feeling that it is going to be a must have.

  6. The soup-er pun made my day, especially because it’s such a pretty bowl of soup! Delicious!

  7. I am just SO impressed by how beautiful the meals you create for yourself are. Just looking at the pictures makes me salivate…You’re DEFINITELY the leader of the pack when it comes to gorgeous pictures and creative tasty looking meals!!!!

  8. you should definitely give a little review of the book when you’re done! i’d love to hear about it.

    just wanted to throw in that i really don’t find my heart rate monitor conducive to yoga at all. i have a polar f6, and wearing the watch part is not good in yoga. it really limits your movement, and my instructor gives me the stink eye when i wear it 😉

  9. I eat so different if my husband can’t be home for dinner. It’s always something quick!
    The bread looks awesome!

  10. All the cool kids added spinach to their soup today.

    Isn’t it funny how much we care what the boys eat? Whenever Chris goes out, I always ask, “What did you get?” I don’t know why!

    Oh, all the cool kids are going to bed early too.

  11. Just caught up on the last two posts- LOVE the loot you got with mumsy! Tonight’s salad is making me wish I would have eaten real meals tonight as well- whoops. 🙂 Beautiful food, per usual!

  12. Wow, you certainly have a way with making “simple eats” look absolutely gourmet. I’m loving all the legumes, especially that salad – what’s on there? Chickpeas and… ?

  13. your pictures are fabulous! i wish you could make double of everything and send it my way! 🙂

  14. Simple, yet oh-so-satisfying.

    HOORAY FOR YOGA!! 😀

  15. next time hubb goes out of time tell him to do daily posts of his eats!!! it would be sooo funny!!!

  16. breakfast looks so good! I love eggs.

  17. Your pictures are so dreamy – I can’t get over it! 🙂

  18. Photos are absolutely stunning, per usual 🙂

  19. Simple is the best sometimes!! Your eggs look so creamy – yum 🙂

  20. I love all your simple eats. Spinach at every meal? Where were the wheat berries?

    Hope you’re enjoying your new book. 🙂

  21. There is nothing wrong with spinach at every meal. 🙂

  22. AMAZING pics as always… yum yum yum!

  23. amazing eats!!! Everything look extremely delicious with these stunning photos! 😀 I envy your photography talent!

  24. Yay for Yoga and that amazing dinner!

  25. All of that looks too amazing!

    NAOmni

Leave a Reply

