florida, family, friends, fun!

Aaahhh….I had such a FABULOUS weekend!  It was perfect.  I was able to see so many people that I love, including cousins that I hadn’t seen in 10+ years!  I helped my best friend to pick out her BEAUTIFUL wedding dress after staying up way too late the night before with her sharing a bottle of wine and catching up.  I shopped ’till I dropped with my Momma and found some great new workout clothes and fantastic deals at the outlets.  I talked about photography with my daddy and picked up some new tips for the blog (along with a new lens for my birthday coming up!!!).  All-in-all it was a lovely, busy, emotionally fulfilling weekend in Florida…and the weather was perfect too!  🙂

A few foodie highlights from the weekend (or, the only food pictures I managed to take…).

A cappuccino made by my daddy…

090222-b1

Along with waffles made by my daddy…

090222-b2

Served with fresh Florida berries

090222-b3

Vietnamese Pho with my Momma…

090222-l1

090222-l3

I LOVE Pho.  Love it.  We have no Pho in Charlottesville, a fact that I have never understood.  We have such fabulous restaurants and so much ethnic diversity in those restaurants that I just can’t understand why Pho has been overlooked.  Its so fresh, healthy and fabulous…I was in heaven.

A few other restaurant highlights:

For lunch on Friday, before my Momma and I shopped like crazy (we needed fuel!!!) we stopped at Sweet Tomatoes.  I loaded up with a big salad, a bowl of golden yam soup (delicious!!!) and a bowl of frozen yogurt.  So tasty…I wish we had them in Virginia!

I had a great meal at Milliken’s Reef in Cape Canaveral with my best friend and her fiance, where I tried conch for the first time and decided I’m not a huge fan.  Its just a little too chewy for me.  I also had lobster bisque, which was fabulous, and a lemon drop martini…!

For all you Orlando bloggers and readers out there, we had breakfast before dress shopping on Saturday at a restaurant called First Watch.  Apparently there are several of them around the city.  They had a great healthy section on the menu, and I chose the Tri-Athlete Omelet which was fabulous.  Egg whites with lots of veggies inside, no cheese, fresh fruit and an english muffin on the side.  I highly recommend this restaurant to all of you Central Floridians.

We had Moe’s after dress shopping, always a delicious option!  I miss Moe’s so much, we don’t have one near us.  😦

Look at the great loot I got while shopping with my momma!

shopping-1

shopping-2

LOTS of new workout clothes…I’m pretty excited about them.  I found a brand of yoga clothes at TJ Maxx that I hadn’t heard of before, Kyodan. Ladies…this is some seriously comfortable, flattering and CUTE yoga gear!  I’m not typically the matchy-matchy workout gear girl, but I think that this stuff is subtle enough to not be obnoxious.  I’m really excited to try some of it out tonight at my class!  I also picked up a couple of my favorite Champion sports bras and a cute new pair of running shorts.  Exciting!

Alrighty, I’ll be back with a regular post tonight.  I’ve missed you guys!!!

30 responses to “florida, family, friends, fun!

  1. I recently found your blog and I wanted to say how much I love it!

    Keep up the great work!

  2. WELCOME BACK!!!!! Fabulous weekend you had, indeed 🙂

  3. First Watch is my favorite breakfast spot! I got there when ever I go out for breakfast. 🙂

    I’m so sorry I missed you on Saturday, i drove all over Orlando this weekend and jsut didn’t have it in me to drive to T-ville. Its sounds like you had a great weekend though and its good you got to see all the cousins and hang out with the fam.

  4. What an amazing breakfast! Homemade cappuccino + homemade waffles + fresh berries = perfect 🙂

    That black dress you bought is gorgeous! And thanks for the tip on the yoga clothes! I love TJ Maxx.

  5. you got such cute stuff! Glad you had a good trip 🙂

  6. I am an HUGE Pho fan. Before moving to the suburbs of Houston, I lived in a very Asian area and learned to eat Pho with chopsticks as a toddler.

    I actually went and picked some up for takeout on Sunday night. Chicago has a little vietnamese area up on Argyle street which is decently north of where I live (maybe 30 mins on the Red Line L train). BUT, one of our favorite places opened up a 2nd location in Lincoln Park only about a mile from my apt. I am just out of the range of their delivery, but its a short bus ride to go pick it up.

    Needless to say…I’m sorry that there is no Pho to be had in your town!

  7. I LOVE TJ MAXX! I spent way too much there this weekend!

  8. Sounds like such a beautiful weekend! Your pics are gorgeous as always!

  9. Hooray for a great weekend! There’s nothing like visiting family and old friends to give you a little pick me up. 🙂

    I love the black dress!

  10. Your food all looks soooo good. And I love Moe’s!

    Great shopping finds too. It looks like you had a really awesome trip.

  11. What a beautiful weekend! I love getting new workout clothes, and your other purchases are beautiful!
    Delightful eats too!

  12. Oh my god, those food pics are making me drool. The strawberries. The pho! You DID have a great weekend! Big score on the clothes, too. I miss TJ Maxx

  13. i’ve got a pair of pants from that brand and i loveeee them! tj maxx is the best

  14. Sounds like you had a fabulous time!! Your photos are gorgeous (as per usual).

    I tried conch for the first time last year, and I had the same thoughts. Kind of like a bigger, chewier version of mussels.

  15. Cute clothes, and I LOVE pho!!!

  16. I LOVE that black dress! Your dad’s breakfast looks great 🙂

  17. Aww so glad you had a good weekend! Those purchases look great! I am ADDICTED to those Champion sports bras. They come in so many cute colors! 🙂

  18. Welcome Back!

    FABULOUS WAFFLES!!

  19. Love the black dress!!! Where did you get that? Any special occassion or just for fun???

  20. Awww, I’ve missed you too!

    You had Sweet Tomatoes…me too! Wait until you have kids, that place is gold.

    I love the LBD. I’ve recently learned a lot of acronyms due to reading Glamour (I got a free subscrip.). The other one I’m dying to use is FHC (from his closet). So…

    I love wearing fitted yoga gear. It makes me feel so much more feminine that just an old tee shirt FHC.

    😉

    Glad you had a fun weekend!

  21. Ooh, I missed your posts and beautiful food pictures.

    I’m glad someone else is disturbed at the dearth of pho in C’ville. It really is tragic!

    Glad you had a nice weekend! (And glad you’re back too!)

  22. Pho is AMAZING!

  23. The little black dress is adorable!

  24. Sounds like you had a great weekend! I love Moe’s too, I wish there was one here!

  25. Glad you had such a great weekend! way cute clothes too:) I really need to get me some new workout clothes. I’m tired of seeing the same ones everyday:/

  26. Glad you had a fun weekend with family, food and friends!

    Nice loot too! 😀

  27. LOVE the black dress!

  28. Sounds like a fantastic weekend!

  29. You had a very productive weekend! Beautiful clothing choices!

  30. I love the cut of your black dress – very flattering.

    I’ve read about First Watch on other Orlando blogs and it always sounds so good.

    And Moe’s! I miss that place too. I used to go a lot when I lived in Philly and there was one in walking distance.

Leave a Reply

