a very satisfying day

The first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is check my email on my iPhone.  Its sick, I know.  Technology these days is just making it so easy to be constantly connected.  This morning I had a comment from Sarah regarding my ravenous day yesterday – she noticed that my meals were lacking in protein and thought that may have been the cause of my insatiable hunger all day.  Of course!  I’m normally very conscious of trying to eat balanced meals but yesterday I definitely fell short.  

While in the shower I thought about what I had in the fridge and pantry and ways to ensure that my protein intake was higher today.  And let me tell you, I have been full and satisfied all day long.  

Breakfast:  ultra-textured banana flax oats

[423 cal, 15.9g fat, 60.6g carbs, 9.8g fiber, 13.9g protein]

090219-b1

This divine bowl contained:

  • 1 cup water, 1/2 cup oats, pinch of salt
  • 1 small mashed banana
  • 1 tsp flax seeds
  • 1 tbsp wheatberries
  • 1 dried fig, chopped
  • 1-1/2 tbsp TJ’s natural, crunchy PB

The textures in this bowl of oats were perfect.  The banana was just ripe enough to make the oats ultra-creamy.  The wheatberries upped the chewiness factor and the crunchy PB added just that…crunchiness.  But the figs were the star.  You all know how much I love popping little fig seeds between my teeth.  My breakfast actually invoked the food dance out of me, a move usually reserved for exquisite desserts.  I was a happy, happy girl this morning.

090219-b2

Lunch: tuna salad on a multi grain flat out wrap with 1/2 cup Fage 0% and 1/2 cup strawberries

[320 cal, 8.6g fat, 36g carbs, 11.8g fiber, 32.3g protein]

090219-l2

090219-l1

090219-s1

Pre-run Snack:  Clif Chocolate Chip ZBar

[130 cal, 4g fat, 24g carbs, 3g fiber, 3g protein]

Exercise:  wonderful 4-mile, very hilly run with Kelly.  I felt so much stronger today, and was careful not to eat any apples beforehand!  We were tired at the end because a good amount of hills happened in the last mile, but I truly felt like we could have kept going.  It gave me great hope for running the Martha Jefferson 8K next month!

[-420 cal]

I’ve been running around the house like a mad-woman tonight doing laundry and packing for my trip tomorrow.  Dinner was quick and easy, just popped some ‘taters in the oven for my hubb and I.  I love dinners that allow me to do other things while they cook.

Dinner:  my favorite sweet potato combo with edamame and corn, along with some leftover brussels sprouts

[392 cal, 12.1g fat, 62.6 carbs, 12.6g fiber, 14g protein]

090219-d21

090219-d1

Alrighty, I’ve got lots to do.  Tomorrow I will be in Florida to help my best friend shop for her wedding dress!!!  I’m so excited!!!!  I also get to see my family (woohoo!!!), so its going to be a very busy few days.  I hope you all have a fabulous Friday and weekend!

33 responses to “a very satisfying day

  1. I must try dried figs, I’ve just discovered my love for dates…I’m imagining they’re kind of similar?

    Have fun in Florida!!

  2. ah yes, the food dance. that’s when you know you’ve got yourself a winner 🙂

  3. Ooh, have a fun and safe trip!

    That oatmeal looks awesome. I have to remember to get wheatberries; they sound/look so appealing on your blog!

  4. your pictures are just gorgeous! how do you buy your flax? how long does it last?

  5. Glad the protein boost helped! I play a little game with myself in the morning to see how long I can go without checking my email 🙂

    Mmm…I love crispy little figgy seeds. Not enough food have edible seeds, if you ask me.

    I hope you have a fun and wonderful weekend…hopefully you’ll get a say in the bridesmaids dresses too!

  6. I agree with you on the importance of different textures in oatmeal – a variety makes it more enjoyable!

  7. That oatmeal looks DIVINE! Have a great trip!

  8. Hey! 2 things. First, why did you say that you were careful not to eat an apple before your run? Is there a bad corrolation between the two? I eat an apple every day an hour before I run as a pre-run snack and for fuel but now I’m wondering if I shouldn’t?
    And 2. That is increidbly ironic that you made those sweet potatos last night because I kid you not, I was JUST putting “smoothered sweet potatos” into our weekly dinner menu next week. I think you seriously read my mind and confirmed my craving for that wonderful combo!
    Have a great trip!!

  9. I am running the Martha Jefferson 8K!! I’ve never done an 8K before…it’s such an odd number!

  10. I always check my email first thing too!! It’s awful!

    Glad you had a satisfying day =)

  11. Safe travels! That PO-TA-TO looks delicious – and with some of my FAVORITE things on top. I’m pretty convinced corn goes with everything. 😀

  12. Mmm, look at that stunning breakfast! I would be a happy girl if I had that too.

    I still have to try the sweet potato/corn/edamame mixture, it sounds heavenly!

    I’m so glad you upped the protein so your full throughout the day. My dietitian recommends at least 10g per meal.

  13. Tryingforatri – Dates are softer and the flavor is a little different, but I’m sure if you like dates you’ll like figs. I love them both!

    Elise – Thank you! I buy my flax already ground, but I read recently that it doesn’t last as long. Although I’m not sure how long that is. I saw that Kath buys hers in seed form and grinds small amounts at a time to keep it fresh, so I’ll probably do that next time.

    Lauren – Apples upset my stomach if I eat them too close to a run. (check out Tuesday’s post). But if they work for you then keep it up!

    Jess – Yay! I hear it’s pretty hard, LOTS of hills! WooHoo!

  14. Have fun shopping!!!

    Yummy sweet potato combo 🙂

  15. SWEET POTATO!!!!!

    Have fun in Florida, dear Andrea!!

  16. That looks like the most amazing day of food ever! Thanks for sharing!

  17. Have fun on your trip! Beautiful food, as always!

  18. I always check my email and my blog comments first thing in the morning. It is a sick obsesson, really. 🙂

    Have a fun trip!

  19. Thanks for the inspiration – we had the best bean burritos last night, based on your mexi-dip post! A can of vegetarian refried beans, diced onion, tomatoes, frozen corn and peppers, 1/2 c or so of cheese – baked together until gooey! Yummy in a tortilla! Thanks so much – we’ll be making that again!! 🙂

  20. how did you cook that sweet potato? it looks perfectly cooked…the way I am always trying to get them…

  21. I always check my email right away in the AM too! The habit started in college for me since my bed and desk were literally right next to each other in my dorm room…I could just sit up and look at my laptop!

    Have a fun in FL! 🙂

  22. Andrea,
    Sarah makes a good point. Fat and protein are a must for me to feel full. I’m glad you felt more satiated yesterday.

    I get emails on my phone too, and I check it as soon as I wake up – glad to know I’m not the only one. I can’t help myself – love reading my comments!

    Have a wonderful time in Florida. Can’t wait to hear all about it!

  23. I do the same thing with my iphone…and I check it before I officially lay down to sleep.

  24. Have fun in Florida!!! 🙂

  25. nice protein filled day!

    have a great and safe trip this weekend 🙂

  26. Yummy tuna salad! 🙂

  27. Love that you mentioned popping the fig seeds. Sounds like I need better fits because I love that kind of stuff!

  28. Hope you have a great trip – have fun!

  29. love the idea of corn and edamame on a sweet potato!

  30. Whew, does that sweet potato look divine!

    NAOmni

  31. yup! the lack of protein would do it!!!! glad you were able to fix that real fast!!

  32. i just found your blog and LOVE it!!!! I hope you don’t mind that I’m putting you on my blog roll?:)

  33. yummy tater! HAVE FUN!

Leave a Reply

