farewell to my table…

My hubb and I have been fans of 1950’s danish modern furniture for awhile now…it kinda comes with the architecture degree.  We’ve been searching for a modern, round, wood, vintage dining table for quite some time and finally found one on eBay…just in time for our birthdays next month.  It arrived today and we couldn’t wait to put it together after work tonight.  Its beautiful, exactly what we wanted, but I’m feeling a little sad right now.  Our new addition means that we have dismantled our old dining table…the beloved table that has served as the backdrop for my photos since day one of this blog. I’ll get over it, soon I’m sure, because our new table really does look so much better in our space.  And the new backdrop is lovely – warm and rich – just different from my old table.  Let me know what you think (breakfast, lunch and snack photos were taken on the old table, dinner photos on the new).  I hope you like it.

Breakfast:  banana, wheatberry, date + almond butter oatmeal

[320 calories]

090202-b12

This yummy bowl contained:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats, 1 cup water, pinch of salt
  • 1 tsp real maple syrup
  • 1 small banana, mashed (about 1/4 cup)
  • 1 tbsp wheatberries
  • 1/2 medjool date, chopped
  • 1 tsp almond butter

I tried Maranatha Almond Butter for the first time!  It is SO good.  But SO expensive!  My hubb did the grocery shopping this week, and bought me a small jar because the big, normal sized jar was $19!!!!  Holy moly.  I’m actually glad that he got me the small jar though because that means I can keep trying new flavors of nut butters when I run out!  There are so many great options out there that I haven’t tried yet.

Speaking of, Heather and Mark over at HangryPants have an almond butter give-away!  Check out their blog for details…

090202-b2

Morning Snack:  3 dried apricots and 3 walnut halves (leftover from my road food snack this weekend).  My breakfast only hung with me for about 3 hours, I was really glad that I had these in my bag.

[104 calories]

Lunch:  salad!  Oh how I missed thee…  And a pink lady apple.

[358 calories]

090202-l1

  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 cup yellow bell pepper
  • 1/2 cup cucumber
  • 1/2 cup brussels sprouts
  • 1/4 cup wheatberries
  • 4 tbsp roasted garlic hummus

This combo was REALLY yummy.  I love putting hummus on a salad in place of dressing, and the brussels sprouts were so tasty!

090202-s1

Afternoon Snack:  5 dried apricots and 3 walnut halves.  Again, a light lunch today, so I was glad I had these.

[137 calories]

Dinner:  two tiny slivers of carmelized onion, blue cheese + bacon pizza ( I didn’t eat the crust…just not a fan of the dough!), a spinach salad and a glass of cabernet.  It was a salad kind of day!  The cabernet isn’t very good, I really doubt I’ll finish it but I’ve counted its calories just in case.  If I decide to ditch it I’ve already got a snackie dessert bowl forming in my head…  🙂

[570 calories]

090202-d1

090202-d2

My salad consisted of:

  • 1-1/2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper
  • 1/4 carrot
  • 1/2 cup cucumber
  • 1/4 cup wheatberries
  • 1 tbsp light ranch dressing

090202-d3

I’m really kicking myself for not getting out of bed this morning for a run.  The weather was lovely, its getting light earlier, but I got to bed so late last night that I just couldn’t get up.  And now?  Rain.  And later tonight?  Snow.  I’m really starting to dislike Virginia in the winter.  How we could go from a high of 62* yesterday, high of 59* today, and snow by midnight tonight is beyond me!!!  Argh.  Oh well, I am planning on going to yoga tomorrow night at my favorite studio with my favorite instructor…nothing beats 90 minutes of yoga.  Nothing.  And rain and snow can’t stop me!  🙂

I hope you all have a great night!

36 responses to “farewell to my table…

  1. Sweet and Fit

    the weather is confusing me too! We are supposed to get “snow showers”…I don’t even know what that means, it either snows or it doesn’t. Congrats on the new table – sounds like it was a great find, can’t wait to see the new background =)

  2. I love the new table, it was so exciting scrolling down in anticipation haha.

    I’ll have to try hummus on my next salad…I guess I neve thought to add it before because it’s so thick. How do you spread it around?

    Your breakfast bowl is making me hungry!

  3. Looks like a pretty new table. Take a pic of it with the whole room 🙂

  4. You could take pictures on a garbage can and they would still be gorgeous!

    I like the dull table, but the new one is pretty too. It really makes the white plates pop.

  5. Sweet and Fit – The dinner pics are with the new table…what do you think?

    Shelby – It doesn’t really spread, I just kind of dip each salad bite in a glop of hummus. Works great! 🙂

    Whitney – I will, as soon as we get our room put back together! 🙂

    Heather – Thank you! I think so too! 🙂

  6. I love the new table for sure 🙂 🙂

    hummus makes anything better 🙂

  7. I’m having a similar workout situation. Same weather here, I’m near VA so must be the same yucky weather pattern 😦

  8. Wow, your table is beautiful! I love the wood grain.

  9. LOVE the new table!!!!

  10. I love the new table! Well, what I can see of it anyway. 🙂

    Wasn’t the weather in Virginia insane today? I was fine without a coat this morning, and now snow?

    I have that same small jar of expensive almond butter. I just bought a big jar from Trader Joe’s for $4.99, but haven’t opened it yet. It looks very similar in the jar, so I’m hoping it tastes as good.

  11. $19 for a jar of almond butter is crazy!! My mom bought me the same stuff at Costco and I’m pretty sure she didn’t pay that much for it…

    The hummus on the salad looks great!

  12. Those oats…oh my gosh. Dates in oatmeal are so good…they almost melt…DIVINE.

    The new table looks great! Can’t wait to see more pictures.

  13. Hooray for 90 minutes of yoga. You’re right…there is nothing else like it!

    OK, so I’m sad that your old table is gone as well as I loved all your pictures! But, the new one looks beautiful, and I look forward to seeing it as a backdrop everyday. 🙂

    Another wheat berry filled day, huh? I like the Maranatha, but like Laura said above, the raw almond butter at Trader Joe’s is much cheaper…pretty tasty too.

    Have a good week Andrea!

  14. As others have said, your pictures would look amazing on whatever backdrop. That said, your new table looks lovely! That pizza looks pretty good on it too. 🙂

  15. I like what I see of the new table. I bet it’s pretty!

  16. MaraNatha is my fave almond butter by far (but I’ve never had Barney). You should try the crunchy. Seriously. I might just pay $19 for it.

    That’s a rough call between a half a glass of bleh cab and a snackie dessert bowl. I vote snackie dessert bowl, snackie dessert bowl!!!!

  17. Hope to see the new table!! 🙂

    This is why I advocate purchasing MY favorite nut-butter brand:

    http://www.futtersnutbutters.com/

    Crazy weather for sure!!

  18. I like the new table! The color is great.

    Your salad photo is so bright and fantastic! It looks fresh and delicious.

  19. I can never get over how gorgeous your pictures are! I love the new table 🙂

  20. oooh enjoy the yoga class. it sounds divine. i love your new table !!
    i have just gotten hooked on the maranatha almond butter. i got the raw kind, and i lovee it! i havent tried roasted almond butter yet

  21. $19??!! i paid $9 for the regular size and thought that was bad. Guess I am getting a deal.

  22. Well…I do admit that I like the color complexity of the old table better but your photos are gorgeous no matter what.

    Yay for yummy yoga!

  23. Yes, that Marantha almond butter is AWESOME but very pricey. Great pics! Very yummy food. 🙂

  24. love the food! Thats some expensive AB!

  25. awwwww, goodbye table. i will miss it, but i’m sure i’ll get used to the new one in good time. glad you’re happy with it! (and yum yum yum, that pizza looks even better 2nd day!)

  26. The table looks great! Pizza… yum!
    http://theidleloaf.wordpress.com

  27. the new table looks just as pretty! i love brussel sprouts in salads!! i roasted some to add to my dinner salad last night, YUM 🙂

  28. the new table is beautiful! you know you can always ship the old table to me.. i am in need of a new table, and i am an antique lover! just drop it off at the GE building and tell them to ship to me.. haha! just kidding!!!!

  29. Fun new table!! Its beautiful!! I think your old one is gorgeous as well! So what exactly are you doing with your old table 😉 ???

  30. I love the new table! I think it looks great.

  31. About the Almond Butter, where did your husband shop? On Sunday I bought a 12oz jar of MaraNatha at the HT in Barracks. It is normally 5.99 but was on sale (with VIC card) for 4.50.

  32. $19.00 for a nut butter?? Yikes! I have only gotten the 1 serving packets from Great Harvest to try different ones, but I’ve never bought a jar before. But, it would probably last a long time (I can justify spending money a multitude of ways).

    I love your new table. I’ve had the same dining room table for 15 years, so I know how you feel!

  33. we are having the same schizo weather! and i am sitting here wishing i ran this AM as well 🙂

    as for the almond butter i’ll see what maranatha runs around here! i’d be happy to send you some if it’s more reasonable!

  34. Nice new table 🙂

  35. Thank you all for accepting my new table!

    For those of you wondering about the old table, it is dismantled and living under our bed. I could never get rid of it! It was actually originally intended to be a desk, and someday it will be again.

    I’m shocked at the AB price too. Maybe it was a GIANT jar, I wasn’t there so I’m not positive. My hubb bought me an 8oz jar at Whole Foods for $5.99 on sale. Jessica – I’ll definitely be stopping by HT to check their prices before my next nut butter purchase!

Leave a Reply

