road food

I just couldn’t resist getting a quick post in today before heading out to NC for the next 30 hours.  🙂 I’ve packed myself some snacks to help resist the urge of eating unhealthy meals on the road, and wanted to show you guys what I’ve eaten so far today.  More quick and easy favorites…

Breakfast:  toasted ezekiel cinnamon raisin muffin with 1-1/2 tbsp natural PB and 1 small pink lady apple.

[384 calories]

090130-b1

Lunch:  baked sweet potato with 1/4 cup wheat berries, 1 cup steamed broccoli, 2 tbsp edamame, 2 tbsp corn, sea salt

[341 calories]

090130-l1

Snacks: [for today and tomorrow’s road trips] small pink lady apple, clif bar, quaker true delights bar, walnut halves and dried turkish apricots.  These will be spread out over the next couple of days, and probably not all consumed.  But I’ve included calorie counts below so that I can pick and choose to make up my snacks while I’m out of town.  What do you pack for road trips?

[apple = 80 calories, clif bar = 250 calories, true delights bar = 140 calories, 1/4 cup walnut halves = 215 calories, 1/2 cup dried apricots = 173 calories]

090130-s1

And I’m off!  Have a great weekend!!!  🙂

28 responses to “road food

  1. I want that breakfast and lunch! It looks so good =)

    Enjoy your time off!!!

  2. I’m lovin the snacks! I do the same thing =)

    Enjoy!

  3. Sometimes I think I have exactly the same taste in food as you – or what I’d ideally like to eat anyway! I haven’t been on a road trip since getting healthier so it used to be things that weren’t TOO terrible but not great either – Wheat Thins, beef jerky, diet Soda, chocolate, etc.

  4. I love the packed snack choices! 🙂 I do the exact same thing!

    Have fun in NC!! 🙂

  5. I’m a big packer – Clifs, PB packets, pure protein bars, fruit, crackers, granola bars, etc. Can never have too much 🙂

    Have a fun and safe trip!!

  6. Safe trip, hon! I pack pretty much what you have right there, along with a pack of gum to keep my mouth busy!

  7. I love the apple sandwich! Everything looks so beautiful.

    Have a great and safe trip!

  8. Those look great! Travel safe Andrea! I love taking PB and banana sandos and stuff like that. 🙂 Lots of fruit because I can chuck apple peels out the window and know it’s biodegradable!

  9. hi andrea! i just wanted to say, i have really enjoyed reading your blog! your photos are beautiful. i am just starting a blog of my own! i literally just started it this afternoon, LOL, but check it out when you get a chance! I added you to my blogroll as well 🙂

  10. Have a great weekend!!

  11. I have GOT to find those Iced Gingerbread Clif bars.

    For road trips I usually pack bars, bananas, crackers, healthy baked goods or PB&J sandwiches. I like to bring along a cooler for longer trips so I can take things like veggies, cheese or yogurt.

  12. have a safe trip!

    and love that clif bar…such a great flavor! i need to eat one of mine pronto!!!

  13. I have a Vera Bradley pack back verflowing with snacks for my trip and I made my Dad buy me even more at publix today. You really can’t be too prepared.

  14. Your roadtrip eats look delish!

    I’m terrible with packing for a trip – I always make sure I have diet pop and I’m off – I NEVER BRING SNACKS and it usually leads to way too much fast food.

    Have a great trip!

  15. I pack the same stuff pretty much! Oranges/clems are good too b/c they don’t get too beat up 😀 Have a great trip!!

  16. love the packed snackies! I like to have bars and apples when I go on trips since they both seem to make me so happy!
    have a great trip!!!!!

  17. i’ve never seen english muffins look as good as they do on your blog all the time!! enjoy your trip 🙂

  18. I’m not sure why you’re headed to North Cackalacky, but I hope you have an enjoyable trip and a safe drive. You’re so prepared with your arsenal of snacks! I’m going to copy that next time I go on a road trip.

  19. Your food and pics are always so gorgeous!

  20. I hope you have a wonderful trip Andrea! I love North Carolina.

    I always pack snacks for trips. My stash looks a lot like your’s – nuts, dried fruit, bars, an apple or two, and ALWAYS dark chocolate. I also keep those single serving packets of Barney Butter on hand. I learned the hard way not to bring nut butter through airport security. Over the holidays, I watched in horror as a TSA officer threw away a BRAND NEW jar of crunchy Barney Butter along with a jar of Sunbutter. I almost cried. 😦

  21. have a safe and fun trip! i wish i had any self control on the road, i try to pack healthy snacks like apples and peanut butter and granola bars.. all to no avail! the last time i traveled i was not yet diagnosed with celiac or dairy allergy sooooo.. it was mcdonalds and TCBY on the jersey turnpike for me!

  22. Love your apple sammie! I just picked up honey crisps at the store – on sale for .69 cents a pound!

    Have a safe trip!

  23. tryingforatri

    Your english muffin sandwiches always look so delicious!!

    I always over-pack for trips, which isn’t always a bad thing! Apples, oranges, grapes, carrots, nuts, bars, dry cereal, cheese, crackers, the list goes on… Have a fun trip! 🙂

  24. One of my favorite things to bring on a long road trip are the Odwalla Super Protein bars because they keep me full for hours!

  25. Road Trip Snacks:

    Clif & Luna Bars
    Fruit: apples, pears, bananas
    Dried Fruit
    Nuts
    Trail Mixes – Trader Joe’s has fabulous ones
    Cinnamon Sugar Pita Chips

    and now, I will probably be bringing VEGGIE CHIPS!! my new love! I have a post coming about nutsonline.com and all the htings I want. ahahha!

    Have a great road trip!

  26. Sweet and Fit

    that breakfast looks so good! I have never seen that iced Gingerbread clif bar….was that by any chance a limited edition flavor?

  27. I love your breakfast. I usually pack the same thing on road trips… lots of healthy, substantial food!

Leave a Reply

