a walk in the woods

I hope that each and every one of you had as lovely of a weekend as I had. Some friends were in town, which meant great company, lots of restaurant-eating and much vino. I got to catch up with two of my best girls from grad school and participated in a wedding food tasting with one of them who is getting married here in C’ville in May.  So fun!  Other highlights included a walk in the woods, an afternoon nap, a trip to the running shop and the viewing of Slumdog Millionaire with my hubb, which I highly recommend seeing if you haven’t yet.  All-in-all, a very satisfying weekend.

That being said…I was a bad healthy food blogger. Not only with my dining-out choices but also with documentation. The food I ate at home (breakfast) was unremarkable, and the remarkable food I ate out is undocumented.  I thought that I would offer you a lovely baked bread instead of a food journal recapping my weekend, but failed miserably at adapting a recipe out of Baking With Agave Nectar.  Not the book’s fault, I’m sure, I just messed with the recipe a bit too much.  I can’t help myself!  So, note to me, when trying to bake with new ingredients like silken tofu (its called for in nearly 1/2 the recipes in the book) perhaps I should follow the recipe exactly until I get the hang of it…

So instead of a lovely baked good, I give you a few pictures from our walk in the woods.  So sunny, so serene, so left me wishing for spring…

090125-woods-31

090125-woods-1

090125-woods-4

And I’ll be back in the kitchen tomorrow…I do hope you’ll check in.  As my pantry door shows, I’ve got plans for the week!  Hopefully the rest of the menu will be a bit more successful than the first item.  🙂  G’night!

090125-menu

PS:  LRM is a trip we’re taking with friends in April.  The fig blondies and marshmallows have already been requested after they saw them on the blog, so I’m keeping a running tab to make sure nothing is forgotten!  🙂

PSS:  My foot is feeling better so I’m going to try a run tomorrow evening.  I’ll give a full report, don’t worry!  Thank you all SO MUCH for your continued support and advice…you are amazing!!!

32 responses to “a walk in the woods

  1. I’m glad to hear you had a lovely weekend!

    I hope your foot continues to feel better!

  2. Ahh, your pantry door is my personal dream. I keep wanting to do something like that. Stupid lease getting in my way.

    Ooh, your blog makes me miss C’ville so much!

  3. Your pantry door is amazing! Wow!

  4. I love your pantry door! I would love to have a cute chalkboard fixture or door in my kitchen. As of now I’m using a small magnetic dry erase board on my fridge… it’s not quite as adorable. 🙂

  5. I am going to have to agree with thelongweigh… your pantry door in adorable and so useful!

  6. beautiful pictures!!!

  7. You take the BEST pictures, I swear, food or otherwise. And holy nice handwriting, girl! I too love the chalkboard door!

    Good luck with the run..remember pain is NOT your friend when it comes to injuries, so if it hurts, don’t do it!

  8. ooh, i love the door as well! i basically do the same thing on paper but this would make my husband happy as he’s always asking ‘what’s for dinner’?

    also, the pictures are very pretty – but i bet (that like here in NC) it was cold! i can’t wait for it to warm up some!

  9. I want your door. Seriously. 😀

    The pictures are beautiful!!!
    Im glad your a foot is feeling better, be careful but enjoy the run !! 🙂

  10. I love your walk in the woods pictures. It’s always nice to see non-food pictures, and I love the outdoors. So, they made me happy. 🙂

    Your pantry doors are great. I’ve got to remember that idea – is it just blackboard paint?

    Have a good run tonight…hope your foot does okay!

  11. Cute pantry door! It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend. I hope your run goes well today!!

  12. hey im planning on cooking tofu veggie stirfry tonight because my tofu will be expired soon. any good recipes?

  13. Lovely weekend!!

    Hope your injury is 100% healed so that your run is truly enjoyable!! 🙂

  14. Great pictures from your walk in the woods! As soon as the snow melts (in Boston… might not be until April) I’m heading out for hiking in the Berkshires 🙂

    By the way, your pantry door is awesome!

  15. I loved Slumdog Millionaire! The bf and I just saw Frost Nixon last night. And I saw Milk a while back. Only two more Oscar movies to go!

    Sorry your baking didn’t turn out well. At least you have a really cool pantry door – so fun!

  16. I LOVE your pantry door – that is SO awesome!!!

    check out my blog or Daily Goods blog – she mentioned something called the SureFoot foot massager by R.E.I. its a $5 ball of RELIEF! its highly recommended for plantar facitis and long distance runners. I LOVES IT. I just sit at a chair at my computer and roll my foot over the ball…

  17. I hope your foot gets better ASAP! =)

    I totally want that baking book, agave nectar is my love!

  18. omg that door is so cool!!! i wish i had one like that!!!

    tell your foot i told it to get better!! NOW! haha!

  19. What a door!! Good luck on the recovery.

    zesty

  20. I love the pantry door/chalkboard. I need something like that in my life!

  21. Love your chalkboard door! 🙂

  22. Glad to hear you had a gret weekend, your pictures are beautiful!

  23. So glad your foot is feeling better! Beautiful pictures and the tasting, YUM?!

  24. i love that your pantry door has a chalkboard … what a genius invention!
    and i’m super jealous of the wedding food tasting — that always sounds like it would be so much fun.
    your nature pictures are gorgeous. you really should enter some type of photo contest — you can do no wrong with the camera 🙂

  25. your pantry door is awesome. Did you put the chalkboard on there yourself?

    great photos.

  26. Wow, I love that door! I need one of those to keep track of my weekly recipes

  27. landoffruitsandnuts

    haha that makes me laugh because that is always my problem is I try to change recipes too much and they always get messed up– it’s fun to experiment though!

  28. Thanks for all the pantry door comments! It was actually my hubb’s idea, he painted it for me before Thanksgiving. We use it all the time, but I’ve never posted pictures of my menu before (part of the idea of the door!).

    Its just chalkboard paint from Lowe’s. We’ve talked about doing a layer of magnetic paint underneath another layer of chalkboard paint so that we could use magnets and stuff too. Fun! 🙂

  29. Sounds like good eats – even if no pics!

    You can’t really improvise in baking – its not very forgiving!

  30. the pictures from your walk are stunning!!

  31. That pantry door is possibly the best thing I’ve ever seen! Haha, I guess I’m easily amused.

  32. Thanks for the pretty pictures.

Leave a Reply

