there will be cookies

I didn’t have a food blog in the summer of 2008, so I feel like I missed out on the David Leite’s  Chocolate Chip Cookie fun that I’ve read about in the archives of a few of my favorite blogs, like Orangette and The Kitchen Sink.  Now, I love a good chocolate chip cookie.  Who doesn’t?  But I’ve seen plenty of recipes out there claiming to make the best chocolate chip cookies ever, so I was skeptical that this one would be any different from all the rest.  I was intrigued, however, by the large amount of chocolate in the recipe…1-1/4 pounds for only 18 cookies!  That, my friends, is a lot of chocolate.  Also, the recipe called for the sprinkling of sea salt on the tops of the cookies just before baking…hmmm.  I am a big fan of sea salt caramels, so this seemed like a touch that would agree with me nicely.

090119-cookie-1

Typically I would take a recipe like this and try to healthify it, using natural sweeteners and substitutes for the refined sugar, oil and white flours.  But it had been awhile since I’d made a full-fat, high-cal decadent cookie, and this seemed just the recipe to indulge on.  And it helped to know that I would be sharing the 18 resulting cookies with 12 friends and co-workers tomorrow during the inauguration ceremony.  I followed David Leite’s instructions almost completely, but did have to make two substitutions.  The first was to use ghirardelli chocolate bars chopped into 1/2″ pieces instead of chocolate disks.  The second was to replace the cake flour.  I scoured the shelves on the baking aisle at Whole Foods and found no such flour.  I decided to substitute the whole wheat pastry flour I had at home and hope for the best.

090119-cookie-2

A warning:  the dough requires 24 hours of refrigeration before baking.  I made the dough last night and of course sampled it, which made me all the more excited to come home from work tonight to bake the cookies.  Its kind of nice, the phasing of the recipe.  You get all of the mess out of the way the first night and are left with the simple pleasure of balling dough and pulling perfectly golden cookies from the oven the second night.

090119-cookie-3

090119-cookie-4

These cookies are worth the 24-hour wait and the extensive blogger hype.  Totally worth it.  They are perfectly crisp around their golden edges, soft and chewy in their centers.  The sea salt adds an unexpected depth that heightens the flavor of the chocolate while at the same time reducing its richness…a quality that makes it even easier to finish the entire 5″ mammoth cookie all at once.  In case you missed the link above, here is the recipe and the article it accompanied.

So tomorrow, as we welcome our new president and toast the changes to come with a group of friends, there will be cookies.   I can’t think of a better way to celebrate.

090119-cookie-5

Here’s a recap of my other eats for the day, although who wants to read about them now that I’ve introduced cookies to the mix?!?  Especially when its a day full of repeats… 

Breakfast:  the standard oat bowl.  I know, I know.  But I love it and its very filling and that’s good enough for me.

090119-b11

  • 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, pinch of salt, dribble of vanilla, sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1 mashed ripe banana
  • 1 tsp ground flax seeds
  • 1 dried fig, chopped
  • 1 tbsp natural peanut butter

Lunch:  leftover veggie soup, 3 Back To Nature Multigrain Flax flatbreads, 2 tbsp hummus.

090119-l11

Snacks:  my Oikos is back!!!!!  1 blueberry Oikos and a tangelo.  Sadly, I didn’t actually eat the Oikos ’cause I just wasn’t hungry enough.  The tangelo was excellent though.

090119-s11

Dinner:  leftover veggie soup with some bulgur added to it and a hearty oat biscuit.  So good, and this is the last of it.  🙂

090119-d1

090119-d2

Dessert:  a cookie.  Of course.  🙂

And I’m off.  Have a great Tuesday, everybody!  Happy Inauguration!!!

40 responses to “there will be cookies

  1. Your cookies look amazing! Refrigerating cookie dough makes all the difference. Now I want to make cookies. 🙂

  2. WOW, I am speechless over the cookies! I AM SO SAVING that recipe to try this weekend!!! yummo!!

  3. Yum. Your cookies look great.
    And, I just love greek yogurt.

  4. The cookies look absolutely phenomenal!!! So worth it.

    And I love the oatmeal bowl, no matter how “boring” it looks.

    Mmm, veggie soup…nothing better in the cold wintertime.

  5. I swear, your photos make me the hungriest/crave-iest of any blog I read, even ones with equally beautiful pics! We must have the same taste!

  6. I was just digging through my recipe binder for things that I need to try in the near future and the infamous NYT chocolate chip cookies were on my list. You beat me too it!

    I made some of Kristin’s Espresso Snow Caps tonight and they are wonderful. I should have them up on the blog in the next few days.

    Enjoy your Inauguration Party!

    -Whitney (ps-Thanks for the kind comments on my blog 🙂

  7. Oh man!!! Those look soooooo yummy!!! As does your oatmeal and soup also!!

  8. Looks incredible as usual!!!! Happy Inauguration to you too!

  9. I found your blog a couple of days ago and immediately added it to my Google Reader subscriptions. I love the simplicity and fresh feel to your recipes! I was just wondering – do you use old-fashioned oats? Do you cook them overnight? In the morning on the stove? Microwave? Or some other method.

    I was just curious. They look to be a perfect consistency.

  10. Those cookies look completely spectacular. I can’t get over how amazing the big melty chocolate chunks throughout them look. Greatest cookies ever! Lucky friends and co-workers of yours who get to eat em up.

  11. Oh MYHECKENGOLLY! Those are the best looking cookies I have ever seen. I have a serious issue with sweet and salty things, so the added sea salt is seriously causing me heart palpitations right now. After I make these, I know my husband will come to your house and hug you as hard as he possibly can, with tears in his eyes, as he struggles to say in a choked up whisper, “Thank you.”

  12. AWESOME COOKIES! They look amazing, especially with your mad photography skillz!

  13. The cookies look like they should be in a magazine!

  14. mmmmm…… full fat cookies… yum!

  15. omg…obama would be proud to have had you make those for the day of his inauguration! i know i would! AMAZING!!!

  16. I’m so glad you made these! I shared the article and recipe with a couple other food bloggers who were asking for great chocolate chip cookie recipes and have always wanted to try them myself as well. They look AWESOME!

  17. SOOOOO many tantalizing eats!!

  18. This is my first time hearing about these cookies. Thanks for the link!!!

  19. Salty chocolate chip cookies are HEAVEN! Yours look fabulous 🙂

  20. Those cookies look INSANE!

    Hey – random quick question for you – where did you find your 10 miler training schedule, or did you just make it up yourself? If you had the link, I would LOVE to see it – I think I’m gonig to run a 10 miler in April. Let me know if you have a chance!

    Thanks girl!
    greendogwine@hotmail.com

  21. Pruett&Daphne

    OMG! Those cookies LOOK amazing!

  22. Those cookies look out of this world!! I, too, am curious about your oatmeal… which type do you use? Do you cook it up in the morning or can you make it ahead? I LOVE a good bowl of oatmeal, but I always find myself running out the door in the morning with just barely enough time to pack a lunch.

  23. Wow, awesome cookies! My daughter will LOVE this recipe – I am the cook, she’s the baker!

  24. those cookies sound DEVINE!!!!!!1

  25. ok so I have been wanting to make some sweet treats for my Hubbys new co-workers, and you hit the spot!!!! I love LOVE love all the pics:)!

  26. ahhh those cookies!! you definitely picked the perfect recipe to fight the healthifying urge!

  27. umm – yeah – i would like some of those cookies to eat right now. they look incredible.

  28. Your photographs are really stunning!

  29. You all are so sweet! Thank you! 🙂

    Rachel – We must! 🙂

    Whitney – I love Kristin’s blog…I can’t wait to see the snow caps!

    Jess and Sarah – Thanks for asking about my oats! I use old fashioned rolled oats, and cook them on the stovetop. They only take 5-10 minutes though, so I usually put them on while I’m making coffee and lunch. Boil one cup of water with a pinch of salt, add 1/2 cup oats. Drop heat to medium and cook until creamy, 5-8 minutes. I then add a little vanilla and cinnamon, turn off the heat but leave the oats on the burner while I add one mashed banana (this is the key to the creaminess!). Then remove from heat and add my toppings. Simple! 🙂

    sarahannmatheny – you totally crack me up. I love your comments!!!

    Allison – I sent you an email, but in case anyone else is curious you can find my training program in the right column of the blog, under pages, under my running story. I hate that subpages don’t show up on the actual page itself…does anybody know how to fix that? Good luck girl!!!

  30. i am craving that cookie right now! I will definitely save the recipe! you are the best 🙂

  31. I saw the hype on these last summer, and not until your post -and lovely photos, was I tempted. Now, I am dying to make them. I just don’t know if I could be trusted. Hubbie and I wouldn’t have anyone to share them with, as we both work from home. ;>)

  32. I must have missed out on these cookies too. They look so good! Thanks for bringing them to my attention.

  33. runningwithfood

    Your cookies look absolutely amazing! So very chocolatey!!

    I love the addition of bulgur to your veggie soup. Such a great grain!

    Stay warm! Happy Wednesday!

  34. My goodness does this recipe look good! Wow!

  35. That’s it, I’ve put off making these cookies for far too long. You’ve convinced me to bake some today! Oh and I love the addition of figs to your oats, I’ll have to try that out. Thanks for sharing!

  36. Now there is a recipe I have to try! I too have been skeptical of the whole “famous” “best ever” cookie hype, but you make me want to give them a whirl!

  37. just found your blog via tastespotting. those cookies look delicious….i love salty & sweet!

  38. Pingback: swiss chard, i think i love you « bella eats

  39. Pingback: a seasonal dinner « bella eats

  40. Pingback: busy lady « bella eats

Leave a Reply

