food on the table

Oh, I’m glad today is over.  Things are slooooooowwwww in landscape design world right now.  It seems that with a faltering economy there aren’t a whole lot of people who want to throw money at creating beautiful outdoor spaces.  I guess they are more worried about keeping food on the table, etc.  And because things are slow in the office, that’s what I spend significant amounts of my day thinking about too, food on the table.  Not that I’m worried about my job security, although I probably should be, I just like to think about food.  On my table.  And what fun new recipe I’m going to try that will get said food onto said table.

But before I jump to the dinner recipe I thought about all day and then crafted when I got home, lets start with breakfast.

Breakfast:  Oats!  And Vanilla Honey Chamomile Tea.  This was a typical bowl of oats that I l.o.v.e. I’m in a bit of a rut with my oats, but I don’t mind at all.  🙂

  • 1/2 cup oats, 1 cup water, pinch of salt, splash of vanilla and sprinkling of cinnamon
  • 1 small mashed banana
  • 1 tsp ground flax seeds
  • 1 spoonful of natural peanut butter (I used up all of my almond butter!  But must thin out other condiments before replacing…)

090113-b1

Lunch:  Veggie Wrap with

  • 2 tbsp roasted garlic hummus
  • 1/2 cup of roasted spaghetti squash
  • red bell pepper
  • baby spinach

090113-l1

This combo was FABULOUS!  I will definitely be repeating tomorrow…sorry in advance!  I also had a navel orange (the one whose zest graced my bread last night) with 1/2 cup of Fage 0%.

090113-l2

Snacks:  C’mon…did you expect any different?  How could I resist this bread?!?  I nibbled on 2 slices throughout the day.  I think this is my favorite bread that I’ve made so far on the blog. Fav-or-ite.

090113-s2

Last week I saw this recipe for Chicken Pot Pie with Cornmeal Crust on Running With Food.  I love Jen’s blog because not only is her photography gorgeous and her writing entertaining…the girl can cook!  Her recipes are the kind of down-home, simple comfort food that we crave regularly in our household. After freezing for most of the day at my drafty desk in a slightly boring job (these days anyway), comfort food was exactly what I needed.

Dinner:  Chicken Pot Pie with Cornmeal Crust [recipe here] with a side of Collard Greens, and a glass of cabernet.

090113-d2

090113-d1

The pot pie recipe is deliciously easy and I followed it nearly to a tee.  One step that Jen forgot to mention is when to cook the chicken.  I chopped it up and tossed it in the saucepan with the veggies to sauté for 5-7 minutes before adding the Cream of Mushroom soup mixture.  I also added fresh parsley to the filling.  After the filling simmered for about 10 minutes, I added one tablespoon of cornstarch (dissolved in 2 tbsp cold water) to help the mixture to thicken up a bit.

090113-d3

I dropped dollops of cornmeal batter across the top of the filling to make “biscuits”, and baked the dish for 20 minutes at 425*.

090113-d5

090113-d7

While the pot pie was baking, I quickly prepared the collard greens by removing the stems and rinsing the leaves.  I then sautéed some garlic in olive oil in a big soup pan. Once the garlic was fragrant, I added the damp collards to the pot and covered it.  I let the collards steam for 5-7 minutes on medium-low heat, stirring occasionally.

090113-d4

090113-d8

Dinner was EXCELLENT!!!  This pot pie recipe is definitely a keeper.  I was hoping to be able to try Jen’s stuffed acorn squash recipe with the leftover pot pie, but there isn’t much left!!!  My hubb REALLY liked it.  🙂

I hope you’ve all had a great day and evening!  I was able to do a little baking tonight for a friend’s birthday, which I will share with you tomorrow.  Not my own recipe, but VeggieGirl’s Fig Blondies!  They are sure to be a hit, the last VeggieGirl recipe I tried was amazing.  Goodnight!

28 responses to “food on the table

  1. mmmm pot pie – I am droooling right now!

    this weekend I plan to make a skillet veggie “pie” of sorts since we have potatoes to use up-mmm comfort food!

  2. omg pot pie!
    looks yummy-licious! it’s too bad that my oven is not working. if it was i would be making your yummy bread =]

  3. That chicken pot pie looks delicious! And now I am craving an orange!

  4. it seems like this economy is really affecting everybody…it worries me all the time, but then again thats one of the reasons I don’t have a job. that pot pie looks yummy, great job!

  5. I thought that recipe looked delish on Jen’s blog too! Glad you guys enjoyed it and thanks for the CK recipe!

  6. I wish I was invited for dinner. 😀

    Thanks for the collard greens instruction. As native of NewEngland, I’ve never had these!

  7. Well I was going to make chilli tonight but now I want to make pot pie!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀 yummo!

  8. Things are pretty slow in the paralegal world – it kind of makes you think about career paths doesn’t it?! I’m lucky that I’m temping at a job right now that calls me Super Paralegal and wants to hire me just as soon as I’ve completed the req # of hours through the temp agency.

    Thanks for the tips! Can I still do upper body lifting? I might do upperbody on days that I run so that I’m working both legs & arms. When do you do your upper body lifting? and how many days per week? no cross training cept for yoga??? thats interesting! not even low impact activity like the elliptical? well you’re doing so well, maybe I’ll have to take these tips to heart!

    I just looked up your training program, and I think I’m going to follow that for the rest of the year – I like that it includes 4 running days – whereas the program I was LOOSELY following was only 3 days of running. I want to keep my endurance up and build on it too so its time for me to copy down your training schedule (cept I’m behind b/c you have a 6mi long run coming up and theres no way I can do that nonstop right now!)

    THANK YOU!!!! I also just got P90X and theres a yoga dvd so I guess I’ll just do that or look up

  9. That looks so good! I haven’t had chicken pot pie in forever and now you have me craving it. Thanks for the recipe link. 🙂

  10. Love the oatmeal, wrap, bread, everything! So delicious. I bet you enjoyed all of the eats immensely!

  11. Stunning!! And I cannot wait to see the blondies 🙂

    **Just as a heads up/reminder: I will not be able to comment on blogs as often now, during this semester, due to work overload (I’m stressed already) – PLEASE know that I’m still loyally reading, but just won’t have time to comment. I hope you understand!!

  12. Mmm, fabulous day of food! The wrap looks great. Yum yum yum 😀

  13. Can I just say – this whole post kicked butt! 🙂

    I was looking at all the picutres, thinkign “MM those oats looks fantastic, mmm that wrap looks amzaing, OMG pot pie…etc etc”

    Sorry works slow!

  14. Oh – spag. squash in a wrap?! That sounds amazing!

    The picture of your bread is stunning! Jen and VeggieGirl are fabulous cooks!

  15. that dinner looks so fantastic.. i love it! and i love the bread!

  16. That pot pie looks so freaking good.

  17. The wrap looks amazing, I love trying new ways of eating them.

  18. beautiful dinner! thank you so much for the recipe for the cranberry ketchup! you are such a whiz in the kitchen!

  19. Wow, that looks seriously amazing. I think I might have to make some pot pie tonight….

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  20. One good thing about this foodie blog community is that it is proof to my husband that I am not the only one in the world who thinks about food all the time!!

    Great chicken recipe – I’ll definitely put this on the list of things to make!

  21. Your chicken pot pie looks awesome! I know my boyfriend would flip for that one.

  22. That chicken pot pie looks yummy! Thanks for the recipe.

    The wrap also looks good…

  23. Ooooooh, I wish I were having chicken pot pie tonight. I’ve been sooo freezing all day! Maybe I’ll make some this weekend …

  24. I still can’t get over how tasty that bread looks. And now I’m jonesing over the pot pie!!!

  25. runningwithfood

    Hey girl! Thanks for the compliment! You are too sweet. So glad you enjoyed the recipe. It will definitely be made again … hopefully in the near future!

    It doesn’t really matter at this point, but I pre-cooked the chicken earlier in the day and added it to the mixture right before it went into the baking dish.

    Have a good day!

  26. What beautiful pictures. I’m going to have to get some tips from you!

  27. I made this recently too I love all the pics!

  28. Pingback: bella terra: bridging the gap « bella eats

Leave a Reply

