i owe you…

…a post.  But instead of telling you about my sunday eats (which were unhealthy, eaten in the car, in ikea or out of a dominoes box) I decided to break up today’s food journal posts.  Since I missed out on all of my baking plans this weekend (a trip to Ikea and the resulting piles of boxes, plastic wrap, tiny allen wrenches and discarded old furniture will do that to you…) I’m hoping to play a little catch-up tonight and tomorrow night.  Which means lots of pictures of baked goods are coming.  Yum.  

Thank you all for the sweet congratulatory comments on Saturday’s post!!!  I am so lucky to be part of such a supportive network of people, it really means a lot to me that you all are cheering me on.  🙂

Breakfast:  toasted Ezekiel Cinnamon Raisin Muffin with 1 tbsp almond butter, sliced apple and 1 tbsp cranberry ketchup.

090112-b1

I’ll give you a preview of what I’ll be eating for lunch and my snack today.  I pack my food in the morning and take all of my photos before work, which is why I always have the same background in my shots.  I like the consistency, and it allows me to avoid awkward questions from my boss and co-worker.  They just don’t need to know about the blog.  Not yet anyway.

Lunch:  baked sweet potato with 1/2 cup of corn and 1/4 cup of edamame…and a good sprinkle of sea salt.

090112-l1

Snack:  1/2 cup of Fage 0% and 4 beautiful strawberries.

090112-s1

Last week I read this article by Mark Bittman of The New York Times about what common pantry items to ditch in 2009.  I found it very interesting and thought you all might as well.  He suggests replacing pre-packaged, preservative-full items with their natural counterparts…sounds right up our foodie alleys, doesn’t it?   A couple of examples:

OUT:  packaged bread crumbs or croutons

IN:  make your own by chopping up bread and placing in a low-heat oven until brown and crispy.  Mark claims they will keep for a long time!

OUT:  aerosol oil

IN:  good olive oil in a hand-pumped sprayer

OUT:  old spices – they’re only good for one year!!!  (looks like I have some cleaning-out to do…!)

IN:  fresh spices – if you take a whiff of your spice jar and get dust or a musty smell instead, toss it!

OUT:  canned beans

IN:  dried beans.  Cook up a pound over the weekend to use all week long.  They taste better, are more economical and take up less space in your pantry.

There are so many other great suggestions…check out the article!

I hope you all have a fabulous day, I’ll be back tonight.  🙂

29 responses to “i owe you…

  1. Aww Andrea, you do NOT have to apologize!! Just post whenever you can, girl – you always deliver with your tantalizing eats, great stories/details, and exceptional photography 🙂

    FABULOUS article!! Thanks for the link.

    Happy Monday!!

  2. I love the ezek sandwich – that looks delicious!

  3. Cool tips! I’m starting school today, YIKES! So i’m gonna start brown-baggin’ it too! We’ll see what my classmates think of the wierd girl taking pictures 😀

  4. Nom nom! I love your edamame and corn salad – looks so good! And I’m glad the CK is still treating you right. 🙂

  5. Happy Monday! Thanks for that article. I also read that ricotta was the food of 2009 and peanut butter was the dessert! From Bon Appetit.

  6. I’ve definitely got some spice cleaning out to do!

    Your breakfast looks so delicious. YUM!

  7. Don’t worry about not posting!! Everyone deserves a break 🙂

    Thanks for the article and I love the Ezekiel!

  8. Every time I look at your blog, I’m so impressed by the dark wood background — it makes your already-beautiful food pop out even more (but tell the truth: is it the floor, or do you really have a table that gorgeous? :-)). So go right ahead and keep up with the pre-work posts! (I’m also biased because I do them, too — who needs flourescent lighting anyway?!)

  9. Thanks for posting those tips, as well as the link to the article. I think I am good with the spices, but I do still rely on panko vs. making my own bread crumbs. Oh well, it’s all about balance right?

  10. Thanks for the article link, it will come in very handy.

  11. Spices are only good for a year? I guess there goes my whole spice cabinet.

  12. Thanks for the heads-up about that pantry article! I’m not sure I’m ready to toss my spices or canned beans but it’s definitely given me some things to think about. Spring cleaning, perhaps!

  13. Thanks for the article link, I try and rotate my spices out yearly.

    I hope your trip to IKEA was successful, I love that place!

  14. Mark Bittman has a new book out, which has gotten some pretty good reviews. He’s supposed to be alittle more moderate than Michael Pollan. I’ve never read either, have you?

    That lunch looks beautiful and colorful!

  15. your pictures look so beautiful~ how do you do it?

  16. I started a NEW blog! Sarawithanh is an olllllld nickname of mine 🙂 I haven’t yet posted in the blog, but stay tuned! Still trying to figure out my writing style and my pictures 🙂 I will probably do what you do and take pictures at home – work people don’t need to know!

    and thanks for the FAB idea for lunch – I have 2 sweet potatoes that need to be consumed SOON and I guess that settles tomorrow’s lunch!

  17. Love the article you posted! I’ve been reading your blog for a little while (found you through Meghann), and I’m loving it! I’m going to add you to my blogroll. 🙂

  18. Thanks everybody!

    Sarah – hehe…I’ve often wondered if people think I take pictures on my floor! 🙂 No, that’s actually my table, although today’s pictures are taken on an antique asian cabinet that got moved in all of our rearranging this weekend.

    sarahannmatheny – I’ve read Michael Pollan, but never Michael Bittman (other than articles on the New York Times). I really want “How to Cook Everything”!

    blueskyworld – Thank you! Oh goodness, that’s a big question! I have a great camera that I give a lot of credit to, and I also try to use natural light whenever possible. I’m so glad the days are getting longer!

    Sarah – Congrats! I’ll be sure to check it out. Good luck with it!

    Lindsey – Thank you! I’m going to check out your blog today too! 🙂

  19. Just post whenever you can girl! No worries.

    I love the english muffin sammich, so delicious.

    Sweet potatoe! =P

  20. I love the out vs. in pantry items! 🙂 Cant wait to see what goodies you will bebaking up!

  21. What a great day’s worth of food! Question…what’s cranberry ketchup? It sounds amazing but I’ve never heard of it before!

  22. I really can’t get over how beautiful your photos are! I actually just saw a pump spray for Olive Oil the other day at Marshalls… I think i’m going to invest

  23. I just discovered your blog and I’ve spent the past hour browsing through the archives…I absolutely love it! Your photographs are gorgeous. And I’ve been lusting after that dark wooden table you have!

  24. Thanks for the heads up on the Bittman article! I got “How to Cook Everything” for Christmas and it is fabulous.

  25. I love Ikea. 🙂 Only you can make an Ezekiel muffin sandwich look like a work of art. Your photos are amazing.

  26. I love ezekiel bread, but I never knew there are cinnamon raisin ezekiel english muffins…where do you get them from?

    By the way, your picture of your fage & strawberries is perfect =)

  27. Alejandra – I sent you an email with the recipe! 🙂

    Paige – Welcome, and thank you!!!

    Rachel – How to Cook Everything is on my wishlist…thanks for the review!

    Sweet and Fit – I get the cinn raisin muffins at Whole Foods…LOVE them!!!

  28. That bread looks fabulous…actually all of your meals look fabulous. I might have food envy. 😉

  29. Pingback: I am a copy cat « Sarah Is Healthy

Leave a Reply

