5 MILES!!!

That’s right bloggies, this morning the hubb and I joined the training group for a 5 MILE RUN!!!  We’re halfway to reaching our goal of running the Charlottesville 10-Miler on April 4th.  I can’t believe that in the last 12 weeks we’ve gone from 0 miles to 5 miles…WOOHOO!!!

We started off with a slow 1/2 mile warm-up jog on the track, then did 4-1/2 miles on relatively flat Charlottesville roads.  There were gradual ups and downs the whole way, and two steep hills, one at the beginning and one at the end.  They were nothing compared to the actual race which has MANY steep hills…in fact, the Charlottesville 10-Miler is known as one of the hilliest, most challenging races in the country!  Yikes.

I began the run with a sweet foursome of ladies while my hubb joined a faster group of guys.  The ladies were pacing a bit slower than I typically do, about 11 minutes.  I pulled ahead after the first 1-1/2 miles and finished the last 3-1/2 miles at my typical 10-minute pace.  I felt great for most of the run, with just a little bit of knee soreness.  But I never felt like I needed to quit.  Never.  All-in-all it was a great run, and left me totally pumped to continue my training for the next 12 weeks until the 10-miler on April 4th!!! We received Phase 2 of our training program today so I will get it posted in the next couple of days on my training program page.

Before my run I ate 1/2 a banana. This is my typical fuel before a long run, but I know I’m going to need more now that I’m at the 5-mile mark.  How do you other runners out there fuel before a long run???

090110-b1

After my run I was famished!!!  My tummy was growling at me for the last mile.  I knew I had to eat as soon as I got home…

Breakfast:  1 cup of Flax Plus Pumpkin Raisin Crunch with 1/2 banana and 1 cup of soy milk.

090110-b2

The hubb and I had a great day running some errands and meeting friends for lunch.  I won’t bore you with details, but the day included mattress testing and lunch at a Brazilian Churrascaria, Ipanema Grill. If you’ve never been to a churrascaria before…GO!!!  Its sooooo fun.  The big chain one is Texas de Brazil, which we’ve also been to (in Orlando).  I mainly ate off of the salad bar, which is huge and AMAZING, but I also had a small piece of bacon-wrapped chicken and a small sausage. Lunch was so big and filling that we completely skipped dinner!

And, on the way home from Richmond (about an hour drive) the hubb and I talked about rearranging our house.  And when we got home, we proceeded to COMPLETELY tear it apart.  We like immediate results…  🙂  So, tomorrow we’ll be going to Ikea to pick up a few things and try to put our newly organized and arranged house back together.  So fun!!!  Here’s a shot of our poor architecture books displaced in our dining room…

090110-books

And this isn’t even close to all of the books we own…

So, my big plans for grocery shopping and baking today were postponed until tomorrow, hopefully.  🙂

I hope you all are having a fabulous weekend…I’ll be back tomorrow!

28 responses to “5 MILES!!!

  1. Hey there!

    Congrats on the 5miles!!! Thats SO exciting!

    Lately I had been consuming an apple before going to the gym, but it makes my belly cramp up horribly. Iv’e read on other blogs that some ladies eat a whole banana w/ a few Tablespoons of PB….for now, I will probably do half a banana w/ some nut butter, and maybe increase to a full banana or maybe even 1/2 -1 full Ezikiel english muffin. Others use english muffins w/ pb & banana slices.

    For long long runs, ppl clip clif shot blocks (or similar) or jelly beans and consume about 1 mile before they normally get in trouble w/ energy/blood sugar levels so I guess that will be trial and error as your miles get higher 🙂

    yayyyyyyyyyyy

    I did 2.75miles nonstop running, 1/4mile walk, .75 miles nonstop running, then walked- total 4 miles (3.5mi were running) I guess thats good right??! I’m going to try for longer tomorrow

  2. Wow, that’s amazing! I bet you’ll feel like superwoman when you’ve reached the 10-mile mark 😀

    Congrats!

  3. Isn’t it exciting? You’ll get hooked on pushing those miles higher and higher!

    I eat half a Balance bar, about a cup of Quaker oat squares and a cup a coffee about an hour before my run. Around mile 3 or so, I start taking a swig of Gatorade every mile. Around mile 6-7, I eat half a Clif bar. My friend gave me some jelly beans which I may try tomorrow, we’ll see how it feels.

    Congrats again!

  4. Awesome run!

    I always eat my full breakfast before I go for any morning run. I am always hungry when I wake up, so I eat about an hour before I am going running and then I refuel with some fruit after the run.

  5. Congratulations on 5 miles! Wow, I can only do one on good days. I guess it will just take me long to build up to it.

    How is that cereal? I keep seeing it at the store and it looks really good. Is it very sweet?

  6. Great job on the 5 miles! You should feel very accomplished! I was at the exact same point you were (just about 3 months ago) – and it’s so exciting when you keep meeting the next mile markers! At this pace – you’ll be set for your 10 miler in no time! 🙂

  7. congrats on the run!! it sounds like it went really really well! i’m excited for you two making the 1/2 way point!

    before a long run i like to have a simple cereal w/ a banana and a little bit of milk. then when i get back i make sure to have a small snack before showering then devour a good meal after that, which is usually around lunch time!

  8. CONGRATS!!! That’s amazing, be proud lady 🙂 You two are well on your way for April 4th!

  9. runningwithfood

    Congrats on the 5-mile mark! That’s fabulous!!

    For pre-run fuel … try a piece of PB toast or 1/2 Clif Bar.

    Good luck with your to-do’s today.

  10. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!

  11. I trained for a half-marathon this past year and often would wake up and run before work, so I didn’t really have time to eat a full breakfast, digest, and then run. I really like 1/2 banana w/ peanut butter and/or honey. Supposedly the honey provides you with the sugar boost you need! If you need more fuel, I would have a piece of toast spread with pb/honey and half of the banana cut up. Just my preference! Congrats on the 5 miles – that is BIG! 🙂

  12. congrats on the five miler!!! i havent been able to do that since the summer.. god only knows what would happen if i tried it now. lol

    im not the person to ask about runing fuel, i get sick to my stomach if i eat before i run, so i used to have a small glass of oj.. that was it!

  13. Congrats on that 5-miler! That’s such an accomplishment! 🙂

    Good luck with all the reorganizing, I’m in the process of moving, and it’s driving me CrAzY!

  14. Congrats on your 5 mile run!! If you think you need more fuel try a piece of toast with nut butter.

  15. Yay on the five miles!

  16. Wonderful job!
    About fuel – oh, what is a long run anyway? I never know. Anyway, I can’t stand food in my belly when I run. If I am hungry before I have maybe a little bread and PB or a Z-bar or dates – those seem to be ok for my stomach. I’ve never eaten just to run though. I usually rune 4-7 miles.

  17. congrats!!!! thats an incredible accomplishment! I hope I can get to that point some day. Have you ever heard of those Clif shot blocks??

    (http://www.clifbar.com/food/products_shot_bloks/)

    I heard they are really helpful for long runs, especially because they are so light and compact. I figure they may be helpful when your stomach is growling at the end of your run.

  18. Pruett&Daphne

    IKEA! I’m so jealous. I so wish we had one here. 😦 Can’t wait to hear how it went. We are the same way – once we get an idea there is no stoppin us!

  19. Congrats on the 5 miler, that is a huge accomplishment! You are so lucky that you can get your husband to run with you. My husband will walk with me, but he hates to run.

    I don’t usually eat before long, morning runs. I just carry some GU or sport beans with me. Before a race I always go with a Power Bar because I know my stomach can handle it. For afternoons runs, I like to eat cereal or pbj sandwiches about an hour before I run. Sometimes, I substitute GU for the jelly on my pbj.

  20. congrats on your run! 5 miles is amazing! Before runs, i’ll usually grab half a cliff bar and that usually does the trick! keep up your awesome training 🙂

  21. hey, I love the blog but I’ve never commented before. I’m a 20 year old college student and a distance runner. I’ve become a bit of a cliff bar finatic in recent years. 😉 I usually eat a full bar before a run of 10 miles or more, but what I really love are the new mini cliff bars. You can get then (in boxes of 18) at Target. They are ideal fuel: i nice mix of fat, carbs, and protein for only 100 calories. They’re also small so they don’t upset my stomach. congrats on the 5 miles and happy running!!!

  22. * meant to type “boxes of eighteen”

  23. Thanks for all of the GREAT fueling tips, ladies!!! I really appreciate it!

    Sara – Mini Clif bars!!! I will definitely be searching for those. Thanks for the tip!

  24. Hi Andrea! Congrats on your training so far!! I’ve run the Army 10-Miler and the Cherry Blossom 10-Miler a few times and usually eat about 2 hours before a long run. I want everything to be all disgested so it won’t upset my stomach. I usually eat pasta the night before and then have a Cliff Bar the morning of the long run. Everyone is different but this works for me. Although I have heard oatmeal or a bagel is great for pre-race fueling.

    Enjoy!!!

  25. great run. very exciting about the 10 miler coming up. My sister, husband, and dad did that last year. They said it was SO hilly. Half of a banana is perfect for me too. If I am going longer – I also have a piece of toast with PB/honey.

  26. Congrats on your long run. I always eat a whole banana before my long run, half a Luna bar, and a Diet Coke…but that is all about 45 minutes to an hour before I actually hit the road. If I don’t have that much time, or I’m going a little shorter than I normally do on a long run, just the banana and the Diet Coke works. Also, I’m a big fan of the Sports Jelly Beans.

  27. Pingback: baby, its COLD outside! « bella eats

Leave a Reply

