cranberry apple holiday pie

Hello my lovelies!  Today has been a whirlwind, and my eats are definitely not worth even mentioning as they were all eaten in a rush between making much more interesting things in the kitchen.  I’m rushing off to a holiday party tonight at my boss’s house, for which I am bringing one of my favorite pie recipes.  I thought I would share it with you this evening, and hope to post the other fun holiday treats that the hubb and I made today, tomorrow.  Have a lovely evening!

Cranberry Apple Holiday Pie

This is the first pie recipe I ever made on my own.  I started with a recipe I found in an old cookbook of mine that I don’t even have anymore, but have modified it over the years.  Its the perfect holiday pie and always a big hit.

081220-pie-5

081220-pie-6

081220-pie-8

 

Cranberry Apple Pie

Ingredients

for the filling:

  • zest of one orange
  • 3 tbsp fresh orange juice
  • 2 large, tart apples
  • 1 cup of cranberries
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins
  • 1 cup turbinado sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2 tbsp quick-cooking tapioca

for the crust:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 10 tbsp butter, cut in pieces
  • 1 egg mixed with 1 tbsp water for egg wash
  • turbinado sugar for sprinkling

Steps

  1. For the pastry, sift the flour and salt into a bowl.  Add the butter and cut-in with a pastry blender or rub in with your fingers until the mixture resembles coarse bread crumbs.
  2. With a fork, stir in just enough iced water to bind the dough.
  3. Gather into two equal balls, wrap in parchment paper and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes.
  4. Preheat oven to 400*F.
  5. Combine orange zest and juice in a medium-sized bowl.  Peel and core the apples and add them to the orange mixture.  Stir in the cranberries, raisins, sugar and tapioca.
  6. On a lightly floured surface, roll out one ball of dough about 1/8 inch thick.  Transfer to a 9 inch pie tin and trim the edge.  Spoon the cranberry apple mixture into the shell.
  7. Roll out the remaining ball of dough to a circle about 11 inches in diameter.  With a serrated pastry wheel, cut the dough into 10 strips 3/4” wide.  Lay five of the strips across the pie in one direction, and lace the other five strips perpendicularly to the first five.
  8. Brush the top of the dough strips with the egg wash and sprinkle with turbinado sugar.
  9. Bake for 45 minutes until the crust is golden and the filling is bubbling.

081220-pie-1

081220-pie-2

081220-pie-3

081220-pie-4

081220-pie-7

What is your favorite holiday dessert?

14 responses to “cranberry apple holiday pie

  1. this looks so amazing.. yummmmmmmmm.. i love apple pie!

  2. Wow your pie looks absolutely amazing! I’m practically drooling from the pictures.

  3. oh my GOD, that pie is absolutely gorgeous!

  4. I’m positively awestruck by that pie.

    **My favorite holiday dessert = gingerbread men!! 🙂

  5. that is such an amazing combination!!!!!! beautiful… seriously looks like it should be on the cover of a martha stewart magazine hehe

  6. Your pie looks awesome!

    Christmas cookies make me happy, just about any type 🙂

  7. This looks SO delicious!

  8. whoa, so be-u-ti-fulll! you did the lacing so perfectly. *jealous*

    i love every holiday treat I can get my hands on 🙂

  9. i loved my grandma’s apple pie…sooo good! but i might have my mom try your pie instead!

  10. oh my, this looks absolutely gorgeous!! can i have a slice? 🙂

  11. That pie looks fabulous! Thanks for sharing the recipe!!

    My fave is my Mom’s tiramisu!

  12. this is soooo beautiful. Nice work. Favorite holiday dessert is apple crisp/crumble

  13. Pingback: holiday gift boxes « bella eats

Leave a Reply

