simple eats

What a day.  My brain is completely fried after an exhausting + frustrating 9 hours in the office.  I’m so glad that the hubb and I got up and ran this morning, there is no way I would have felt up to it tonight!  We ran a lovely 2 miles, with 1/4 mile warm-up and cool-down, for a total of 2-1/2 miles.  We’re finally sticking with the weekly mileage in the training program so there will be a bigger difference between our long Saturday runs and our mid-week training runs.  We are bumping to 4 days of running per week too, up from 3, which I’m excited about!  I did pop my favorite power yoga dvd in the player for 45 minutes of strength training after work, followed by 15 minutes of crunches.  

Here’s a quick daily eats recap:

Breakfast:  An Ezekiel cinnamon raisin muffin with 1 tbsp almond butter and a banana.

081216-b1

Lunch:  A whole wheat pita stuffed with 2 tbsp TJ’s edamame hummus (YUM!), broccoli slaw, yellow bell pepper and cucumber, along with an Oikos blueberry yogurt.  This was my first blueberry Oikos experience…I literally got THE LAST OIKOS on the shelf at Harris Teeter.  Below the empty shelf was a sign that explained that they wouldn’t be stocking Oikos for a short period due to a manufacturing problem.  I guess I owe my Whole Foods a blog apology for ranting about them last week…   😛  Anyway, the blueberry was pretty tasty but I really miss my honey flavor!!!

081216-l1

081216-l2

Snack:  A 12oz skim latte from my favorite coffee shop downtown and 1/2 a honeycrisp apple.  This apple was really disappointing as all my store-bought apples have been lately, I guess the season is finally over…  😦

081216-s1

Dinner:  Baked chicken, roasted veggies  (brussels, potatoes + golden beets) and Near East Whole Grain Blends (chicken + garlic).

081216-d1

081216-d2

Dessert:  Definitely breaking back into the chocolate covered strawberries in a little bit…

I’m off to do more Christmas prep…we’ll be in Florida in 1 week!!!  Yay!!!

17 responses to “simple eats

  1. Simple yet satisfying eats.

    By the way, only Braeburn apples have been tasting good lately – hope you can find some!!

    Get enough rest after your exhausting day!!

    Hooray for Florida in a week!! 🙂

  2. Glad you got your run in early today, I find that I usually enjoy exercise in the mornings more in the afternoons…it’s more a chore later in the day!

    Your pics are amazing, as usual. Question: Is the blurring of the background a camera setting? I just think it looks really nice in your pictures 🙂

  3. I’d definitely agree with you about the apples, I bought some pink ladies this week and they are super sour, not at all how they should be!

    Get some good rest tonight!

  4. Such nice comforting foods 🙂 Too bad about the apple! I’m always so sad when apples go out of season.

    Your yoga sounds nice. I always have to work out in the morning because I get way too tired after work. Enjoy your night!

  5. I’m really liking your white plates. Your food looks so elegant on them!!

  6. great job w/ getting the run in before work! i bet that would have made my day better too!

    and glad to hear you like the near east product…i have it out, sitting and waiting to be used!

  7. your simple eats are great!!!!!! Agree with melissa, your food looks so elegant and all the time! 😀

  8. yummy eats! Sometimes simple is just what we need!

  9. Your dinner looks so good…my kind of meal, simple yet delicious!! I don’t know if there is a Trader joe’s near you but their blueberry greek yogurt is AWESOME!!!

  10. Yay for Florida in a week! OMG I can not believe Christmas is sooooooo soon!

  11. Your pita looks amazing! Love the colours!

  12. Sounds like a great way to wake up. 🙂 And such yummy foods!

  13. I need to try that cinn-raisin muffin, english muffins are my fave! Good luck shopping.

  14. your philosophies are similar to mine so i am going to add you to my blog roll!!

    You eat alot of the same things I eat and I am also currently training for a half marathon!

  15. I’m jealous of your Christmas in FL. I heart Florida! We are staying in AZ this year, but usually I have to spend Christmas in MN – freezing!

  16. Ugh – sorry to hear about your frustrating day! At least you had some good eats and did yoga!

  17. VeggieGirl – thanks for the braeburn tip!

    Jenny – Thank you! Its not a specific setting that I use, but you can manually adjust the aperture and shutter speed on digital SLR cameras to achieve different depths of focus in a photograph. Shoot me an email if you have any other camera questions, I’m happy to try and help!

    Melissa – thank you! I love white plates, they help the food to stand out…

    Lizzy – Welcome!

Leave a Reply

