holiday bootie buster challenge

I’M SO GLAD ITS FRIDAY!!!!!!!  Is it just me or was this the longest week ever?!? 

So I just discovered Run To The Finish’s Holiday Bootie Buster Challenge and am super-excited to participate! I’m a few days late, but luckily I have a blog so I’ve got a good record of my exercise so far this week (although it doesn’t amount to much yet…).  Here’s my count so far…

  • 12.10.2008: run 2.7 miles = 2.7 points
  • 12.10.2008: abs for 15 minutes = .5 points
  • 12:11.2008: yoga for 50 minutes = 1.7 points

Total HBBC Points = 4.9 

Its a bit of a slow start, but I’m hoping this challenge is just what I need to kick my exercise up a notch!

This morning the hubb and I continued our new Friday morning breakfast tradition, meeting our friend Amy at our favorite breakfast spot, The Bluegrass Grill.  This morning I felt like something salty instead of sweet, so I decided to go with a veggie omelet.

Breakfast:  Veggie Egg White Omelet with green pepper, green onion, tomatoes and black olives (no cheese), topped with salsa.  Hashbrowns and the AMAZING honey wheat bisucuit on the side.  I only ate 1/2 the potatoes and 1/2 the biscuit with a packet of strawberry jam on top.  And a cup of coffee, of course!

081212-b1

Lunch:  Leftover Butternut Squash, Kale + White Bean Soup and a handful of Kashi crackers.

081212-l2

081212-l1

Snack:  A banana and 1/4 cup of Melissa’s Trail Mix, plus a chocolate covered pretzel…I just couldn’t leave him out!  🙂

081212-s1

Dinner tonight was quick and easy.  Grocery day is tomorrow which means we are LOW on produce…as in we don’t have any.  We briefly thought about take-out but then I remembered that I picked up some pre-made ravioli at Trader Joe’s on Tuesday…perfect dinner in a pinch!  I also found some frozen spinach in the freezer…I’ve never cooked frozen spinach on its own, just put it in sauces etc, so this was a new experience.  I just steamed it for 8 minutes, then sauteed some garlic in Earth Balance and added the spinach to the pot.  It was just…ok.

Dinner:  TJ’s Portobello Mushroom Ravioli with TJ’s Vodka Sauce and steamed spinach on the side.  Also, a GIANT glass of TJ’s Shiraz…it was a TJ’s kind of night!

081212-d2

081212-d1

I told ya…BIG glass of wine.  It was a frustrating day at work, what can I say?!?

Dessert:  I made a sweet snack bowl with Annie’s Honey Bunnies, TJ’s pumpkin spice granola and 3 gingersnaps.  It was a little dry (obviously) so I added a few spoonfuls of unsweetened applesauce after I snapped the pic.

081212-d3

Tomorrow ends Training Week #7 with a 3 mile run!!!  I can’t believe we’ve already finished 7 weeks!!!  Crazy.  I think the weather will be decent so the hubb and I are planning to meet the group at the UVA track. However, if group one is still run/walking on the track we’re going out on the road on our own for several reasons.  #1) We are planning to run the full 3 miles after our fabulous 2.7 mile run Wednesday.  #2) Running 3 miles on the track sounds like the most boring thing EVER, except for maybe running 3 miles on a treadmill…!  

What are your weekend plans?  I’m hoping to finish my Christmas shopping/making!!!

10 responses to “holiday bootie buster challenge

  1. TGIF, for sure!!

    Scrumptious eats!!

    BEST OF LUCK ON YOUR 3-MILE RUN TOMORROW!!

    **My weekend plans = personal-training sessions and studying like MAD for finals.

  2. Good luck with the training!

    The Bluegrass Grill just sounds so Virginian. 🙂 (My dad’s family in Roanoke plays bluegrass)

    I don’t have any official plans, maybe shopping and a movie?

  3. Mmm…haven’t tried that Shiraz, was it good? Your eats look yummy, how fun to have a new Friday morning breakfast “tradition.”
    Good luck on your run tomorrow!

  4. I loooooove your pictures…did you ever take photography? what camera did you use?

  5. Oo I love your dessert!

    Weekend plans – 2 xmas parties on the same night! Both Bobby’s and my companies are having their parties tomorrow night, and luckily they are less than a mile apart in San Fran. I’m excited 🙂

  6. yum that chocolate pretzel and trail mix looks amazing.

  7. I like your measuring cup!

  8. Two Buck Chuck! That’s what my college friends and I used call that wine. It’s surprisingly good for being so inexpensive!

    Weekend plans – holiday party, dinner, movie, exercise, grocery shopping, and baking something with peppermint. 🙂

  9. mmm pass me some of that dessert 🙂

  10. VeggieGirl, Laura, Maggie, Eliza and Lindsay – Thank you ladies!

    Maureen – The vino was pretty good, especially for only $3.29!!! Not dinner party wine, but perfect for winding down at the end of a long week! 🙂

    Sophia – Thank you! I don’t have any formal training, just a love for photography! I use a Canon EOS 5D digital SLR.

    Erin – Target!!! 🙂

    Ashley – I’ve always heard it called Two Buck Chuck too! I actually went to TJ’s last week looking for wine called “Two Buck Chuck”, and was a little confused when I couldn’t find it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

