don’t mess with a good thing

Well, the poor little No Bake Cookies never hardened.  I figured out why with the help of my very wise (and somewhat disappointed) hubby.  I wandered into the office to sheepishly confess that I had “slightly modified” the cookies to “try and make them a little healthier” while he gave me a blank look and simply asked “WHY?”. Fair enough.  I explained that I wanted to substitute honey for some of the sugar in the recipe, and that since I was adding a liquid I felt like I should subtract some liquid from the recipe.  Makes sense, right?  Well, the liquid I decided to subtract was butter (which was to be melted before adding to the cookie mix). “But the butter is what holds them together and makes them firm up!”  Right.  Point taken.

So, I leave you with Nana’s No Bake Cookies, which I assure you are little bites of heavenly goodness, and look just like this before they harden up into actual cookies that you can pick up and hold rather than mushy, sticky blobs…

081203-d31

Nana’s No Bake Cookies

makes 4 dozen “2 bite” cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup unsweetened baking cocoa
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3-1/2 cups instant oatmeal (I’ve used rolled oats too, they are just a bit chewier)

Steps:

  1. Mix cocoa, sugar, butter and milk in a medium saucepan and simmer for 2 minutes.
  2. Remove from heat and add peanut butter, vanilla and oatmeal.
  3. Spoon onto wax paper or foil until set, 1-2 hours.

So easy, so tasty…so going to be making them soon because now I have a CRAVING!!!

Oh, and I’m fully aware that this is my second post on the day that I’m starting “one post a day”…  🙂

Goodnight!

15 responses to “don’t mess with a good thing

  1. landoffruitsandnuts

    Ok, just read this after I just commented on you last post- and omg, I’m sorry I had to contain myself from laughing out loud. Just your description of walking to confess to your hubby & the blank look made me crack up because I can see myself doing the same thing with my boyfriend & having the same problem (it happens alot when I try to make healthy things- one time I told my bf I’d make him brownies and I healthified them wayy too much– he was rather disappointed & not tricked at all lol) Anyways, no loss though, now you know and it was fun experimenting, right?!

  2. Looks delish to me!!

  3. runningwithfood

    “…he gave me a blank look and simply asked “WHY?” …”

    Such a classic line … I also get THAT look from my hubby. Hahaha! 🙂

    I bet this batch would go perfectly in yogurt … or added to a bowl of ice cream!

  4. landoffruitsandnuts – It WAS fun to experiment, I just hate wasting ingredients…!

    VeggieGirl – Thank you!

    runningwithfood – Hehe…boys are so funny. 🙂 You read my mind, wait ’till you see my bowl o’ oats in my post tonight!

  5. Haha I have had that exact conversation with my bf soo many times!! You could probably sub 1/2 the sugar for honey if you reduced the milk by about 1/2 as well… or just leave as is like the hubs suggested. 😉

  6. Hi Andrea! I just read all the little about sections after you commented on my blog…It’s so nice to read another food blog from a runner! My running story is a little different, I have been a runner since high school, but I can identify with the in and out of shape, and especially the injuries (I have tendonitis in my right foot right now). Anyway, I look forward to continuing reading. I’m going to look into that 10-miler, I live in the D.C. suburbs, but I love Charlottesville.

  7. LOL! LOL! That sounds just like my hub! He hates when I try to make things healthier. It literally disgusts him.

  8. i would crumble those babies up and put them in ice cream or yogurt!!! they look good!!!

  9. My mom used to make those. They look AMAZING! Thank you for sharing, I will definitely be making these for Xmas!

  10. I adore those cookies! Sometimes, when I make them lower-fat and without the butter we just make little ramekins with them and eat with a spoon. 🙂

  11. Yum! I’ve had these cookies (or something similar) and they were delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

  12. P.S. I added you to my blogroll!

  13. Hi Andrea, I saw your comment on my blog:

    With the protein in the hempmilk, as well as the whole banana, the Puffins are filling.

  14. They look great to me! I love how simple they are. I could go in my kitchen right now and make them with what I have on hand.

  15. I have very fond memories of no bake cookies. My favorite part was eating the warm “drips” off of the wax paper!

Leave a Reply

