training week #5 + groceries

Happy Saturday!  I hope that everybody is enjoying their post-Thanksgiving weekend with family, friends, relaxation etc.  

Brian and I started the morning right with a run with the 10-Miler training group.  We ran 2 full miles on the track (boring!!!) but it went really well and felt great.  This morning was especially important for me because I was trying out a loaner pair of shoes that my running coach gave me out of his shop to see if they would help to correct the foot pain I’ve been experiencing.  Verdict is….success!!!  I ran the full 2 miles pain-free.  YAY!!!!  He says that I have a very unusual foot and that this is their least-selling shoe because it combines the soft, cushioned sole with added support for pronation.  They are still Brooks, which I’ve been running in off and on for about 9 months, just a different style.  I love them so far…aren’t they pretty?!?!?  Not that that is the point…

shoesies

Breakfast:  I had 1/2 a banana before my run, then came home for a bowl of oats.  This yummy bowl contained

  • 1 cup prepared rolled oats
  • 1 apple sprinkled with 1 tsp turbinado sugar and a dash of cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp almond butter
  • 1 tsp ground flax seeds
  • sprinkling of pom seeds

081129-b1

I spent some time catching up on blogs this morning, then made our grocery list for the week.  I took a thorough inventory of the fridge, pantry and freezer and was able to keep the trip pretty light.  But first, we stopped at the running shop so I could buy my shoes.  I also picked up a wind/rain breaker from the sale rack and a pair of gloves.  Anything to keep me motivated to run through the winter…

shoesies-3

Its not really day-glow pink…more of a bright raspberry.  I figure I won’t be missed when running on the road!  Brian also got a new pair of shoes, and since we spent so much money (eek!!!) I got a free t-shirt (yeah!).

shoesies-2

After that spending spree we stopped at Hot Cakes for lunch.  They have an awesome selection of salads, sandwiches, soups, quiches, lasagnas etc.  I selected the Salad Sampler which had

  • Spicy Lentil Salad (sooooooooooo good, has me craving lentils now)
  • Tomato/Onion/Feta Salad
  • Roasted Cauliflower w/ Dried Cherries and Capers (such an unusual combo but really tasty!)

I skipped the piece of bread that came with it.

081129-l1

Next was Whole Foods.  I was shooting for $50, but was thrown off after my amazing lentil salad from lunch (I just had to buy bulk lentils to try and replicate it), a sale on Amy’s soups (who can resist?) and a persimmon!  So the total wound up at $63, which is still good for us considering we typically spend at least twice that (scary…I know).  I paid for detergent and dish soap separately to help us to get an idea of our actual food cost for December.  We’re trying to cut our grocery shopping in 1/2…  

Here’s our loot:

groceries-12

  • brown rice pasta
  • corn meal
  • walnuts (BSI!!!)
  • dried lentils
  • bars!!!  (we’re taking full advantage of the coupons in the Whole Deal and stocking up every week)
  • canned beans
  • enchilada sauce
  • Amy’s Soups (in hearty bean flavors for added protein for me)
  • organic Stonyfield French Vanilla yogurt (no Oikos for me this week…)
  • eggs

groceries-32

  • bell peppers
  • carrots
  • spinach
  • potatoes
  • bananas
  • sweet potatoes
  • persimmon

I also picked up these flavors of Clif Nectar bars yesterday when we were shopping at our local sporting goods store…they don’t carry these at our Whole Foods so I had to get a few.

groceries-22

After getting home, unloading and photographing groceries I was ready for a snack.  I decided to try out the infamous PB-filled medjool date for the first time.

081129-s1

FANTASTIC!!!  Now I know what you all have been raving about!!!  I also had a couple of tortilla chips with some salsa that Brian was munching on…

Now we are going to spend the evening decorating our Christmas tree while I bake up a few treats in the kitchen!!!  I should have a BSI post tonight or tomorrow morning, and I’m going to try another of Sweet + Natural’s recipes!  Woohoo!!!

5 responses to “training week #5 + groceries

  1. HELL YES for:

    – a pain-free run

    – free t-shirt

    – amaaaazing lunch at Hot Cakes

    – delish groceries

    – luscious PB-stuffed medjool date

    – CHRISTMAS DECORATIONS!! 😀

  2. pb-stuffed medjool, isn’t that the best snack? love it!

    and yay for the walnut purchase 😉

  3. everything looks terrific! especially that pb stuffed date. 😉

  4. yay for a free shirt & an amazing lunch!

  5. runningwithfood

    Great shoes! I love Brooks! They are definitely the best running shoes I’ve had.

    Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

