bye bye moles…

I started off my morning with a trip to the dermatologist to have a couple of moles removed.  Yuck.  My doctor is great and a couple of my little spots were suspicious to her so she decided they should go.  I trust her, so off they went.  Two on my back, one on my thigh.  I’m kinda sad about the one on my thigh…I was very familiar with it because it was so visible to me.  And now there will be an ugly scar in its place, unfortunately below my shorts line.  😦  Is it weird that I was slightly attached to my moles?  Hmmmm…..  

Okay, a little backtrack.  Last night I was in such a snackie mood (as evidenced by last night’s post) and had a bit of a sweet tooth attack after dinner.  I satisfied it with a cup of unsweetened applesauce and some Annie’s Honey Grahams on top.  Yummy.  I just love these little Bunnies!!!

081119-d4

I also decided that I wanted to try a Fitnessista Breakfast Cookie because I’ve been intrigued by them on Jenna’s posts lately.  So last night I mixed together:

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla soy protein powder
  • 1 tbsp PB&Co Dark Chocolate Dreams
  • 1/8 cup Silk plain soy milk
  • 1/2 mashed banana
  • 1/4 cup frozen blueberries

I mashed it all out on a plate and stuck it in the fridge overnight.  When I woke up I had a chewy breakfast cookie waiting for me!

081120-b1

081120-b2

It was basically my typical oats bowl with the addition of the Dark Chocolate PB all mashed out into cookie form.  It didn’t get as hard as I expected, I wasn’t able to pick it up and eat it.  But I guess that makes sense with the banana in it. 

I was excited about this new breakfast creation for a couple of reasons.  1) Who doesn’t love a cookie for breakfast?!?  2) One of Brian’s favorite things is his grandmother’s No-Bake Cookies, which are very similar to this but they stick together better and get a little harder.  And they are completely unhealthy.  I see this as a jumping off point to “healthify” a classic favorite

For lunch I stuffed 1/3 of my leftover tuna salad into a whole wheat pita, along with some broccoli slaw.

081120-l2

Paired with a plain Oikos and a Pink Lady…

081120-l1

And for a snack I have my leftover banana from yesterday and a Clif Z-Bar.

081120-s1

I have lots of exercise planned for today!  I’m meeting my friend Christine for a 45 minute hilly walk at lunchtime.  And tonight I am going to my first Spin Class!!!  A friend of mine teaches at the University’s gym, and even though I’m not a member anymore since I’m not a student, she can get me into the class for just $5!  I’m super-excited.  I’ve been reading about everybody else’s spin classes and what great workouts they are, so I can’t wait to try one myself!  I’ll report in tonight.

I hope everybody has a fantastic day!  Almost Friday!!!

10 responses to “bye bye moles…

  1. SUUUUCCCCHHHH H pretty pictures. I love.
    I had a mole removed and I felt kind of sad too. It was on my back and I just liked it, so I don’t think that’s weird at all!

  2. I’m glad that the moles were removed, before it’s too late – phew!!

    LOVE THE BREAKFAST COOKIE!! Hooooooly yum 😉

    Have fun at the spin class!!

  3. Awesome!! Thanks for the welcome, I saw your announcement on Meghann’s blog as well, it was so nice of her to do that for me! Everyone is so friendly i love it! Have fun at Spin i still need to try it. I’m gonna add you to my blogroll too, have a fab day!

  4. Better safe than sorry with moles! I recently had to beg my dermatologist to remove a suspicious one on my neck. She thought it was nothing, but it ended up being cancerous! All gone now, but I do have the battle wound, which makes me very tough. 🙂 Be grateful yours plays it safe!

  5. yea it is better to be safe than sorry with moles! i just stopped tanning about 7 months ago.. partially because my BF wont let me go.. but then TWO of my uncles got diagnosed with skin cancer. Both older and BOTH are full blooded Italians… never assume your ethnicity will protect you! this Italian babe is slathering on the sunscreen from now on..

  6. Erin – Thank you! I’m glad I’m not the only one out there…

    Liz – Me too, especially with a history of skin cancer in my family!

    Caroline – I added you to mine too! Welcome!

    Ashley – I agree! I’m really cautious about that stuff, so I’m glad I didn’t have to force her to raise the scalpel! So glad that your bad mole is all gone now!!!

    Mariposa – Good point! I am 8th generation Floridian (well, I was when I lived there!) and my family has a looooooong history of sunning. My mom caught on to how bad it was in her 20’s so she bestowed good habits on me. But still, you never know!

  7. Bunnies swimming in an applesauce pool! How cute!

  8. That lunch looks wonderful!

    Everyones getting on the breakfast cookie train – I think it’s time I try it out!

  9. I love your site! What kind of camera do you have? You’re on my blogroll– I’m just starting out! I’d love it if you could help me get the word out about my site. I want to join this foodblog community! It’s so fun!

    http://eliseseats.blogspot.com

  10. Nicole and Allison – Thank you!!!

    Elise – Welcome! I checked out your blog this morning, its looking great so far! Can’t wait to see it develop.

    My camera is a Canon 5D. My dad is a big camera buff and gave it to Brian and I for Christmas last year. Thankfully, because we never could have afforded it on our own!

Leave a Reply

