my nose may fall off…

Is it spring yet?  This last couple of days have been our coldest yet this year, and for some reason I am not adapting to the low temperatures.  I typically accept each change of season enthusiastically, but this year I could skip right over winter…

Brian and I braved the cold and went out for our mid-week training run after work.  1/2 mile warm-up, 1-1/2 mile run, 1/4 mile cool-down.  I bundled up in long pants, a long sleeve shirt, fleece vest, fleece pull-over, head band to cover my ears and gloves.  It wasn’t too bad once we got moving, and my hands were hot after the first mile as usual.  I really don’t get that.  Aside from my poor frozen nose the run felt really great, and I’m excited to increase mileage again on Saturday.

For snacks today I skipped my banana and had another spiced apple cider with my Kashi.  No pictures…

Dinner was simple, leftover black bean soup (not so soupy today) with 1/2 a sausage link crumbled in it on top of brown rice and a side of roasted brussels sprouts.

081119-d1

081119-d3

Soooo filling, I couldn’t finish my beans.

Ok, in an effort to not let blogging take over my evening I’m stopping now, closing my laptop lid and heading to the bathtub with my book to hopefully thaw my fingers and toes…  Have a great night!  🙂

UPDATE:  I forgot!  I snacked while I was waiting for my brussels sprouts to roast, on these…

 

Kashi TLC Cheddar

Kashi TLC Cheddar

 and these…

green olives

green olives

Now I’m off to a bath!  🙂

13 responses to “my nose may fall off…

  1. Ahh, I agree – I might DIE this winter from the extreme cold!! 😦

    LOOOOVE your dinner!! Black bean soup + brussels sprouts (an obsession of mine) = too good to be true 🙂

    Enjoy your evening!!

  2. I agree with you also! It was near 80 on Saturday, now it’s 30? I’m having a tough time adapting to this!

    Soup is the perfect way to end a freezing cold day. 🙂

  3. it is really cold, its so shocking when i step out from my insanely hot apartment. kinda refreshing for me, at least hehe.
    WOW! i love brussels, and those look so perfect. they’re delicious & they are pretty to look at/photograph. beautiful!
    have a nice evening staying warm 🙂
    thanks for your kind words, also.

  4. mmmmmmm black bean soup! I made black bean pie the other day. YUM.

    Great blog, by the way!

  5. I hate the cold, and yet I still continue to live in Wisconsin. I say let’s all find somewhere warm and create a little bloggers community! 🙂

  6. I hate hate cold weather…fortunately I’m in DC, it’s cold, but bearable!
    greats eats and your photos are stunning!!! Any tip?

  7. runningwithfood

    Ah, the cold. I grew up in MN, now live in NC. I can’t bear the frigid temps any longer!! Brr!

    Delish dinner! 🙂

  8. I’m strugglin gin the florida cold (but it was was in the 30s this morning!) I can’t imagine what its like up there!

  9. I just love your blog, Anra! It makes me feel closer to you and Bri even though I’m all the way down in Florida.

    It’s been chilly here, too. High 40’s this morning but we will hit 70 today. (You probably didn’t want to hear that!)

    I’m planning on making potato cheese soup this weekend. And you know how yummy that is. Hope you both have a great day. Love you! Mom

  10. That leftover soup looks AWESOME!

    And nope – sorry – not spring yet! 😦 The really depressing part is – it’s not even officially winter yet! BOO! 😦

  11. Thanks for all of the great comments ladies!

    Coco – I really love my camera, its a Canon 5D Anybody could take a good photo with it… 🙂 My dad is an amateur photographer so I grew up with amazing photography around me. I’d love to get more artsy with my food photos but I always seem to be in a rush!

  12. I loooooooove brussel sprouts! They’re the perfect side 🙂

  13. Mom!!! I just saw that your comment got stuck in the spam filter…so sad! Thank you for the comment, I hope your potato cheese soup turned out well! I posted a batch that Bri made at the beginning of the blog… Love you too!

Leave a Reply

