homemade pizza and groceries

Good evening!  I hope everybody had a wonderful Saturday, despite any dreary weather you may have had (like me!).  After my BSI submission I cleaned up the house a bit, lounged around a bit, blogged a bit and made a grocery list.

For lunch I had leftovers: 1-1/2 cups green potage and 2 slices of oatmeal bread, one with roasted garlic hummus.

081115-l1

Turns out the garlic hummus and oatmeal bread weren’t that great of a combination…I only ate about 1/2 of that slice.

Before grocery shopping I had a Clif Nectar bar so that I wouldn’t eat or buy everything in sight.

Product Review: Clif Nectar lemon vanilla cashew flavor

081115-s2

This is my all-time favorite Clif Nectar flavor, and I’m so glad that my Whole Foods still carries it. I also really love the cranberry apricot and cherry pomegranate but they’ve discontinued them at my store…SO SAD!!!  😦  This flavor is wonderfully sweet from the vanilla but still has a nice tartness from the lemon, and there are big chunks of cashews.  Yum.

The bar held me over through our various errands and grocery shopping, and kept me from ordering anything when we drove through Taco Bell so Brian could snack on a bean burrito.

Here is a sampling of the grocery store loot this evening:

First, the regular items.

groceries-1

  • bananas
  • brussels sprouts
  • sweet potato
  • broccoli sprouts
  • mushrooms
  • cauliflower
  • broccoli
  • raspberries (!)
  • z-bars (!!)
  • Clif Nectar Cocao (this should be on the newbie list, never tried this flavor before)
  • tofu
  • Silk plain soymilk
  • Oikos (!) (would love to try Chobani, but my store doesn’t carry it!!!)
  • vino
  • honey
  • Amy’s soups
  • Kashi cheddar crackers
  • whole wheat pitas

More regular items.

groceries-2

  • rolled oats
  • part skim mozzerella
  • Wallaby yogurts (Brian’s favorite…so good!  they have great flavors and are super-creamy)
  • red bell peppers
  • pomegranates (2 of these!  2 for $5!)
  • feta cheese
  • frozen edamame
  • coffee

Regular items not pictured:

  • cucumbers
  • tortilla chips
  • more vino
  • lunch meat / cheese for Brian
  • arugula lettuce mix
  • scallions
  • onions
  • cream cheese for Brian’s bagels

Newbies!!!

groceries-3

  • Clif bars!!!  (the Whole Foods Whole Deal has tons of coupons, lots of taste-testing this week!)
  • new hummus – roasted red pepper
  • PB&Co dark chocolate dreams (!)
  • turbinado raw sugar
  • Smart Deli veggie pepperoni slices (for our pizza tonight)

So excited about my newbies!!!  Especially the PB&Co, I didn’t realize my Whole Foods even carried it!  And, I discovered that they carry the MaraNatha almond butter, but I’m not in need right now so I will try it next time I’m all out.

We also stopped at Bodo’s to get Brian a supply of everything bagels for the next couple of weeks,

groceries-41

and the Organic Butcher to get chicken breasts and some bacon.  I love the Organic Butcher, most of the meat that he carries is local and it feels great to support a local business as well as local farmers.  We actually reserved our local, organic turkey for Thanksgiving tonight!  🙂

By the time we got home I was STARVING!  Brian and I put together a wonderful homemade pizza with fresh pizza dough from a local pasta shop.  Sadly they were all out of whole wheat, but we were in SUCH a pizza mood that I couldn’t say no to white flour.

081115-d1

We made up for it with part skim mozzarella, veggie pepperoni slices and lots of veggies.

081115-d2

I had about 1/4 of the 12″ pizza, and paired it with a salad and small glass of red wine.

081115-d3

081115-d5

081115-d4

My salad consisted of:

  • arugula salad mix
  • cucumber
  • red bell pepper
  • 1 tbsp feta crumbles
  • 1/4 cup red raspberries
  • 1 tbsp sliced almonds
  • 1/2 tsp grape seed oil
  • 1 tsp red wine vinegar

This Syrah is a new bottle we found at Whole Foods, just $9, and is pretty good!

081115-d6

I’m off to watch SNL…have a great night!

14 responses to “homemade pizza and groceries

  1. The pizza looks astounding. I LOVE broccoli on pizza. The salad looks very nice too. I love the combination of fruit and nuts in a salad. I usually do apple and walnuts or sunflower seeds, but the raspberry/almond combo is brilliant!

  2. GORRRRRGEOU soup, bagels, groceries, pizza, and salad!! 🙂

    SNL = amazing.

  3. ahhhhhhhh i love that you stock up on bagels – what a great idea to freeze ’em…

  4. I just finished a jar of Dark Chocolate Dreams PB yesterday! The first time I tried it, I didn’t like it much b/c it’s not too peanut buttery and it’s not to chocolatey. Sort of like the two flavors cancel each other out. But then it grew on me and I think it’s delish. Enjoy!

  5. Monica – broccoli on pizza is fantastic! The key is to steam it first, I’ve had it when it goes in the oven raw and its still a little tough. I’m a big fan of apples and walnuts on salads too!

    VeggieGirl – Thank you! 🙂

    Lindsay – It works so well to freeze them! I get whole wheat bagels for me from the same place, but I don’t go through them as fast as Brian does. We take them straight out of the freezer and pop them straight into the toaster and they come out tasting perfectly fresh. Yum!

  6. Ashley – I tasted it last night on a piece of banana apple bread….oh. my. goodness. Heaven! 🙂 I’ll post it later today… 🙂

  7. I’d love to find a local butcher! It shouldn’t be too difficult with all of the farms here in VA, I just need to do some research.

    The pizza looks very good!

  8. teenageveghead

    i absolutely love your blog. i have ben reading it for a while!
    your pictures are always so colorful.

    i haven’t tried that nectar bar, but i have tried the dark choc. raspberry bar and it was pretty good.

    your pizza looks so yummy!

  9. I love your grocery finds! Looks like you got a ton of good stuff!

    Mmm… Pizza, you have my favorite topping on it too! Broccoli!

  10. Laura – I love having a local butcher! I don’t eat much meat, but when I do I like to know where it comes from. 🙂

    teenageveghead – Thanks for reading and commenting! I haven’t tried the dark chocolate raspberry nectar yet, I don’t think my store carries it… 😦

    Mel – Thanks! Grocery shopping is one of my favorite weekly activities (isn’t it for all of us?!?) 🙂

  11. All of your loot from Whole Foods looks FANTASTIC! Can’t wait to see more of the dishes you whip up!

  12. Your pictures are absolutely gorgeous! Wow.

  13. Pingback: comfort food for hubby, new challenge for me « bella eats [and runs]

  14. rhodeygirltests

    what a lovely healthified pizza!

Leave a Reply

