small wonders

This afternoon I ventured out into our veggie garden to clean it up and get it ready for next spring’s planting. We had freezing temperatures a few weeks ago and the garden has been completely neglected since then. Honestly, we didn’t take nearly as good care of it this summer as it deserves…certainly not as good care as we took its first season (2007). The first summer Brian and I were both working from home so we were able to spend a lot of time during the day tending the veggies. This summer we both had office jobs…..and a distraction. For a graduation gift I received kayaks, which means we spent WAY more time on the river during our weekends than we did out in our garden. Poor garden. 😦

I’m pretty embarrassed to show you the state it was in when I got out there, but here it is.

081108-before

I had quite the task ahead of me, but Brian fixed me up with an AWESOME ipod mix so the task of pulling plants, weeding and turning soil was actually very meditative as I got lost in the mellow mix.

And….the garden had a few gifts for me!

strawberries!

strawberries!

little red pepper

little red pepper

asian eggplant

asian eggplant

golden raspberries

golden raspberries

thyme, oregano, chives, dill

thyme, oregano, chives, dill

It was a very satisfying afternoon and the garden is now ready for spring planting.

081108-after

I can’t wait to blog about its progress next spring/summer!  There is little more satisfying to me than growing our own food.  I love it.

After all of that work I was ready for lunch, especially since it was already mid-afternoon!  I made a quick tuna salad with

 

  • 2 cans tuna in water
  • red bell pepper
  • celery
  • 3 tbsp mustard
  • 2 tbsp lite mayo
  • 2 heaping tbsp dill relish
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder

 

I had about 1/3 of it with a handful of Kashi crackers and a HUGE tangerine.

081108-l3

081108-l2

081108-l1

I’m glad it was a late lunch because now I’m making our menu and grocery list for the week.  Hopefully I won’t be hungry when we go to Whole Foods later…that’s always dangerous!  🙂

9 responses to “small wonders

  1. even when i’m not hungry, i shouldn’t be allowed in whole foods haha i buy everything i see!!

    i love your garden. you’re lucky you’re still getting some fruit and veggies. my garden pretty much gave out on me last week.

  2. I am SO jealous that you can grow all these amazing fruits and vegetables in your garden! Its just too cold here!

  3. i love the garden photos and the fact that you can grow so many delicious, healthy produce right in your yard. Jealous! The picture of the golden raspberries is so perfect–i want to print it out and frame it haha
    lovely lunch–have fun at whole foods–always dangerous 😀

  4. How neat that you found a few surprises out there. 🙂 I’d love to have a garden, but unfortunately don’t have a yard.

  5. How cool that you have your own garden!

  6. I’m sooo envious of your garden – mine couldn’t flourish this year, due to extremely horrible weather conditions 😦

    I went to Whole Foods today too!! It’s literally my second home 😀

  7. Thanks everybody for the garden comments! My header picture is actually from one of our “harvests” in 2007. We’re able to grow a good variety in Virginia but we tried many things this summer that didn’t work so well. Next year will be simpler…I think we’ve learned a lot from our first to summers!

  8. Pingback: end of the holidays… « bella eats

  9. Pingback: bella terra : preparation « bella eats

Leave a Reply

