mmmmm pumpkin.

My efforts to make dinner this morning before breakfast were well rewarded. I finished work at 6:00 and changed into my running clothes at the office. I went out for a 25 minute walk/jog downtown, and it felt GREAT! I walked a hilly half mile, ran a full flat mile and walked a hilly half mile back to the office. When I got to the place in my run where I knew I’d gone a mile, I still felt great and know that I could have kept going. I was good though and stopped where the training program told me to. Instead of pushing myself on these early runs I am taking the opportunity to slow down and really listen to my body. I am working on my form and concentrating on keeping my breathing balanced. So far so good!

I went back to the office to catch up with Brian for dinner. We came home and I popped my morning’s hard work into the microwave for a reheat. It was fantastic!

081106-d15

On my plate I had 1.5 cups of kale, 1 cup of quinoa, 1 cup of broccoli and 1/2 cup of tater medley.

For dessert I decided to try the pumpkin muffin recipe from sweetandnatural. I followed the recipe exactly because it seems to be pretty well worked out. Mine didn’t turn out nearly as beautifully as the originals…I’ll try to work on that next time.  I love pumpkin ANYTHING, and surprisingly this is my first pumpkin recipe this fall!

081106-d17

081106-d16

See how lumpy they are?  Not sure why they turned out that way, the originals are so smooth and glossy looking.  I was on the phone with my mom while mixing the batter so I may very well have mis-measured something…I’m bad about that.  But they tasted WONDERFUL!!!  I put walnut halves on top of them and the bite that had the walnut in it was my favorite, so I think I’ll put walnuts in the batter next time.  Only problem is, hubby doesn’t like nuts in his baked goods. Maybe I can do them half and half…

Perfect ending to a lovely fall day!  Now I’m in the mood to bake and have another sweetandnatural recipe to try this weekend…  🙂

2 responses to “mmmmm pumpkin.

  1. Your muffins look so much taller than mine too! I wonder if your tin has smaller wells? Either way, I’m glad they were tasty!

  2. Ashley – I noticed that too! I must admit, I’m a bit of a sloppy baker. I think I may have used a tad too much flour, making the dough a little drier than what was intended. The recipe is great though, and I’ll definitely be making it again!

Leave a Reply

