hip hip hooray!!!

What a LOVELY morning this is!  I do believe the sun is shining a little brighter, the birds are chirping a little louder and the general population is much cheerier on this historic day.  It was so exciting last night to see the country come together to elect such a passionate and inspirational leader for our nation.  My favorite line from President Elect Obama’s (!!!) speech: “The road ahead will be long. Our climb will be steep. We may not get there in one year or even one term, but America — I have never been more hopeful than I am tonight that we will get there. I promise you — we as a people will get there.”  Thank you to everyone who performed their civic duty by getting out there and voting for your candidate of choice.  I am so excited to see a fresh new face in office and anxiously await the changes to come.

Now for a quick food recap for last night.  Brian and I joined a couple of friends to watch all of the coverage on CNN.  We picked up Thai ’99 on the way over, a great choice for take-out that we don’t frequent often enough.  Its only a mile from our house but for some reason we don’t think about it when running through our typical list of chinese, pizza or fried chicken options.  I chose the Vegetable Spring Rolls and Tofu Vegetable Soup for my dinner.  Delicious and light and exactly what I wanted!  They really don’t photograph well, but I tried.
081104-d21
081104-d1


The soup had big cubes of tofu and LOTS of bean sprouts and scallions floating in a yummy veggie broth. The spring rolls were nice and light, just lettuce and carrots in a rice wrapper with a wonderful sweet chili sauce…so good. I will be making these at home! I will add more veggie variety to the wraps though, without the sauce they would have been a little blah.

In my friend’s kitchen I discovered this giant bowl of candy.
081104-d4

Apparently they didn’t get as many trick-or-treater’s as they thought they would! I was very good and only had one mini Twix bar for dessert. That shows MAJOR self control for me! 🙂

I also had a generous glass of wine, but only one at the beginning of the evening because I was DD 5 hours later.

This morning I woke up at 6:15 energized and ready for my training run!  I went out for 30 minutes, 10 minutes of walking, 10 minutes of running (about 1 mile), and finished with a 10 minute uphill walk home.  It felt great to be out bright and early and I really enjoyed the run.  I was pleased that I was still able to run a full mile on the road (although a relatively flat stretch of road) fairly easily.  This first few weeks of training will be pretty light for me so I will be sure to supplement my workouts with hilly walks, yoga and the occasional exercise dvd.

I was running a little late this morning so ate a rushed bowl of Kashi Heart to Heart with a banana on top and Silk plain soymilk.

081105-b1

I then packed my lunch for today, a veggie wrap and a cup of leftover potato cheese soup.

081105-l1

081105-l2

I had all of my wrap ingredients arranged nicely on the cutting board for a picture pre-assembly, but was distracted talking to my mom on the phone and forgot to actually take the picture!  😛  So here’s the list:

 

  • one 8″ Whole Foods whole wheat wrap
  • 2 tbsp roasted garlic hummus
  • 1/4 sliced red bell pepper
  • 1/4 sliced cucumber
  • 1/4 cup alfalfa sprouts
  • a few baby lettuce leaves

 

I also packed a good, filling afternoon snack because I am going to yoga at 7pm tonight and won’t have time for dinner beforehand.  A plain nonfat Oikos and Pink Lady apple should do the trick!

081105-s2

Pink Ladies are my favorite.  They are so sweet they are almost candy, and it will be perfect to dip in my plain yogurt. (My second favorite apple is the Honey Crisp, and then maybe the Braeburn…can you tell its apple season here!?!).

Well I need to get some work done.  I probably won’t post again until after yoga tonight, so have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

