cooking for one

Whew!  Just got back from yoga, which was a 1.5 hour class instead of 1 hour like I thought.  I’m a little bummed out about it because I’m really more of a 1-hour class kinda girl.  This means that there is only (1) 1-hour class at this studio that I can take each week.  I wouldn’t mind the longer class so much if it started earlier than 7:15, but I really dislike getting home after 9pm!  Especially since I don’t have time to eat a decent meal at home and let it digest properly before class starts. Oh well, it was nice having the extra time to take with the moves to get even deeper into the stretches.

Poor Brian’s working again, which means poor me is all alone tonight.  Because it was so late when I got home, I wanted something quick, easy and satisfying.  I dug around in the freezer looking for veggie burgers, which I found, but they were horribly freezer-burned.  I settled for two Morning Star Farms veggie sausage patties smeared with hummus, topped with red bell pepper and 50% reduced fat white cheddar and broiled.  

081105-d1

081105-d3

These veggie patties are really great.  I actually learned about them from talking to the owner of Cafe’ Cubano.  They use them on their breakfast biscuits with egg and cheddar…YUM!  Its one of my favorite breakfasts in town.

081105-d41

For a side I whipped together a smoothie.  It sounded so nice and refreshing after yoga, and I knew the patties would sit a little heavy in my stomach.  Look at its beautiful purple color!
081105-d21

Ingredients:

  • 1 small, ripe banana
  • 1/3 cup frozen blueberries
  • 2/3 cup Silk vanilla soymilk
  • handful of ice cubes

It was pretty good.  Next time I’ll do a 1/2 cup of blueberries and 1/2 cup of soymilk, it was a little runny and not as tart as I was hoping.  I do like that I rolled my dinner and dessert all into one meal though!  🙂 I’m off to knit…so many Christmas projects to finish in so little time!

Leave a Reply

