aahhhhh comfort food

So I just looked back at my mid-day post and see that my food pictures aren’t that appealing! It was kind of a blah day for food, not in taste but definitely in appearance! Plus, I took a few of my pictures with my iphone and they just don’t come out as well…maybe I’ll make up for it with my dinner pics.

So tonight Bri has to work ūüė¶ , but he was able to come home with me so we could have dinner together before going back to the office. He made his amazing potato cheese soup. This recipe is so incredibly good. I have never and will never attempt to make it any healthier because it is a total comfort food for both of us and has many nostalgic memories. Changing the recipe would ruin it! This was the first meal that my hubby ever made for me, way back in college before we were even dating! The second was blueberry pancakes, another all-time favorite of mine.

Here it is in all its glory, along with a hunk of roasted garlic sourdough bread. Oh my goodness…yes, those are whole garlic cloves baked inside of it. You’ll learn that I have many weaknesses when it comes to food…bread is definitely one of them.

He starts with a medley of sauteed celery, carrot, onion and garlic.  Add chicken broth and potatoes, bring it all to a boil then lower it to a simmer.  Eventually white rice (preferably Jasmine but Minute is fine too) is added to the simmering pot of goodness and about a cup of shredded cheddar cheese.  The cheese gets all melty and the potatoes start to break down and it all blends together beautifully!  YUM!

To make the overall meal a little healthier I made myself a big salad to go along with it, and cut my normal portion of soup in half. This was a great trade-off, I got to enjoy the soup without feeling ridiculously full afterwards like I normally do.

It was a big pile of baby lettuce mix, 1/4 cup alfalfa sprouts, 1/2 red bell pepper, 1/4 cucumber and 1/4 cup of corn. All topped with a teenie drizzle of grapeseed oil and a generous splash of red wine vinegar. Yum! I’ll be honest though, if I wasn’t keeping track of my food in this blog I probably would have skipped the salad, had the double serving of soup and filled up on 3 hunks of bread! The blog is already making me accountable for what I eat! ūüôā

Since the hubby only had a couple of hours at home before going back to work, I hung out with him while he made soup instead of going for a run or walk with the pups. ¬†That’s ok though, my ENTIRE body is sore from yoga yesterday…the good sore not the unbearable sore. ¬†I think its good to rest today and get a good walk and jog in tomorrow.

Well I’m off to do a bit of knitting and reading. ¬†Tomorrow is ELECTION DAY!!! ¬†I can’t believe it. ¬†I’ve been totally obsessed and glued to CNN for the last year, I don’t know what I’m going to do when its over! ¬†Brian and I are walking with Christine and her hubby to our polling place tomorrow morning at 5:45 to vote! WooHoo!

Leave a Reply

