yay for yoga!

It has been another beautiful day in Virginia! Perfect temperature, clear blue skies, gorgeous fall colors. This is definitely my favorite time of year, of course until the spring bulbs start popping up and the farmer’s market starts up again! I think I just love that we have seasons here…Florida is great (especially in the winter when its not below freezing for my morning runs!), but I really really enjoy the seasons in VA.

I went to a Vinyasa Yoga class at Studio 206. It was fantastic. Hilary is such a great instructor, I always love her classes. This was my first time back in over a year, so I’m sure I will be super-sore tomorrow, but it felt SO GOOD to be there! I realized that I was at my happiest physically when I was combining yoga with running, so I decided to get back into yoga with the start of the 10-miler training. Also, when I was practicing yoga along with running I didn’t have any injuries, so maybe all the stretching will help prevent injuries this time around too.

After yoga I ran a couple of errands and snacked on a Kashi.

Then I came home to do some laundry, cleaning and prep for dinner. I stopped by the Organic Butcher this afternoon to pick up some chicken breasts, which I seasoned with a splash of extra virgin olive oil and a generous rubbing of Chef Paul’s Poultry Magic. We have all of Paul Prudhomme’s Magic Seasoning Blends, his restaurant in New Orleans is one of our favorites.


I also chopped up some fall veggies to roast.

Beets, Carrots, Baby Yams, Potatoes, Onion, Garlic…YUM!

Then I decided it was too beautiful to stay inside even with all of the windows open, so I took the kids for a nice 2-mile hilly walk around the neighborhood. They loved it and were totally wiped out by the time we got back.

When we got home I was really hungry and realized I’d skipped lunch! SO unlike me. I blame it on daylight savings and my lunchtime yoga class. I heated up 1/2 cup of saffron rice and 1 cup of leftover veggie black beans that I made last week. Very satisfying and held me over ’till dinner a couple of hours later.

For dinner I had 1/2 a chicken breast (they were pretty big!) a good pile of roasted veggies and a side of Near East Whole Grains, accompanied by a small glass of wine. The yams in the veggies were so good! I LOVE sweet potatoes and was excited to find these little guys at Whole Foods yesterday.


I had a side of WahooQ bbq sauce on the side…I think one of the main reasons I still eat meat is because I can’t give up bbq sauce!!!

I am now wonderfully full, finishing up my wine and contemplating whether or not I want any dessert….

UPDATE: Yep, definitely caved to the need for sweet. A Kozy Shack rice pudding hit the spot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

