who knows me?!?

Whew, its been a long day!  This will be a quick post…I’ve got no energy left!  

But first, I had lunch today with a friend from grad school…a friend that informed me when we first met up today that she had discovered my blog! Randomly!  So that left me curious, do I have any other readers that know me outside of the blog world?  If so, please speak up!!!

And, thank you for all of your great calorie-counting suggestions!  I really appreciate it.  I’m going to check out all of the sites you mentioned and will give you a full review of what I think of them.  It will take a couple weeks, but I’m excited to try out some of the FREE services out there!

My breakfast was inspired this morning by reader Kelly who asked on my last post how many calories my yogurt/granola/fruit breakfasts have.

Breakfast:  1/2 cup Fage Total 0%, 1/4 cup TJ’s pumpkin spice granola, 6 strawberries, 1/2 banana

[262 calories]

090129-b1

This was lighter in calories than a normal breakfast for me, but it stuck with me for about 3-1/2 hours!  I was impressed.  I need to keep this combo in mind for future mornings.  I knew that I had a later than normal lunch planned for today, so I packed a morning snack to keep me going.  This was perfect, it helped to bridge the gap so I wasn’t ravenous at lunch time.

Morning Snack: 6 walnut halves, 2 tbsp dried cherries

[178 calories]

090129-s1

Lunch:  at one of my favorite C’ville spots, Eppies!  They have great southern favorites.  I had the veggie plate with 1 cup collard greens, 1/2 cup black beans, 1/2 cup brown rice, 1 cup sweet potato, a nibble of cornbread, unsweetened iced tea

[about 350 calories]

Afternoon Snack: 1 medjool date, 1/2 tbsp PB

[113 calories]

090129-s2

I had to work late tonight, then had errands to run before heading home.  I didn’t walk in the door until after 9pm, at which point I was STARVING!  My hubb ordered us Chinese once he knew I was en route (he hung some shelves in our laundry room tonight! yay!).  I went a little overboard…  My standard healthy take-out order is steamed veggies and tofu with steamed rice, sauce on the side.  Tonight I substituted the steamed rice for some leftover whole wheat pasta we had in the fridge.  At the last second I requested egg drop soup because it sounded so good, and I couldn’t resist when my hubb offered me 1/2 his veggie egg roll.  And, of course, the fortune cookie.  🙂  The calorie count is an estimate from what I could find on myfooddiary…

Dinner:  take-out steamed veggies + tofu on 1 cup whole wheat pasta, 2 tbsp garlic sauce, 1-1/2 cups egg drop soup, 1/2 a veggie egg roll, 1 fortune cookie

[about 600 calories – eek!  I let my hunger take over…  note to self, pack an emergency bar in purse in case of late nights in the office!]

090129-d1

090129-d2

Sadly, I missed all exercise today.  I’ve been getting to bed so late that I have a hard time yanking myself out of bed in the morning.  And with as late as I got home tonight, there was no running.  😦  Its probably a good thing though because my foot has been bothering me today.  Argh!!!  So frustrating.

Tomorrow I’m heading to Charlotte for my friend Christine’s baby shower!!!  I’m super-excited.  We’re staying overnight so I probably won’t be posting again until Sunday.  I hope you all have a great Friday and weekend!

25 responses to “who knows me?!?

  1. pumpkin spice granola! yum!! all your food pictures are gorgeous!

    I hate not having time to exercise, but even worse is being injured! Be careful with that foot!

  2. Oh, sorry about the foot. I hope it’s feeling better tomorrow.

    Those late nights can be tough. When I don’t get dinner until late, I’m so famished that I can’t stop piling stuff on my plate. Unfortunately, my eyes are always much bigger than my belly!

    Have a safe and fun trip to Charlotte!

  3. Okay, first: I FREAKING LOVE EPPIES!! I almost screamed, “EPPIES!” when I read this post. I had to contain my enthusiasm. If I come back to visit C’ville, we’re going to go for a run and then go to Eppie’s and eat corn bread and collards!

    Secondly, did you get Chinese from Asian Express on Main? The delivery guy looks like Tracey Morgan!

  4. Late work nights are no fun. They sooo don’t make a healthy lifestyle easy. I know when I work late I come home and start devouring everything in sight. Your emergency bar suggestion sounds like a good idea.

  5. I too hate working late nights! It messes up my schedule and I always overeat after waiting that long between meals! I think you did great though.

    Have a fun weekend away!

  6. I wish I “knew” you…does that count for something???

    You just need to add a little nut butter to that breakfast and it looks like something I would eat =)

    Hope you have a great trip and enjoy the baby shower (hopefully you don’t have to play “Name That Baby Food”)!

  7. I know you! 🙂

    I have random people who I haven’t talked to in forever or barely know tell me all the time that they read my blog. It just goes to show you how much of Facebook Stalkers people are 🙂

  8. Beautiful pics! I love them. Yummy yummy!

  9. I wish I knew you outside of the blog world – you’re fabulous!! 🙂

  10. keep a stash of luna or clif bars in your office for late nights!

    have fun this weekend! are you going to be able to try to get a long run in?? goodluck! I hope your foot feels better

  11. Mmm, breakfast sounds delicious!

  12. Sorry you had such a long day!

    HAVE FUN IN CHARLOTTE!

  13. So great to be back in touch! Do I win for knowing you the longest? Am I your only elementary/middle/high school friend? Love ya!

  14. So great to be back in touch! Do I win for knowing you the longest? Am I your only elementary/middle/high school friend? Love ya!

  15. Have a great weekend!

  16. Thanks for posting your calories – that was really helpful. I am off track with counting and should really start again.

    I don’t know you in real life, but I will admit that your blog is one of my favs! I love your outlook on food + your photography is gorgeous. I really think you should be publishing it somewhere, somehow!

  17. I love Eppies! I haven’t been there in almost a year since I was lat in c-ville! oh I am soooo jealous!

  18. Ah – what a small world!!

    LOVE the Chinese food 🙂

    Have fun at the baby shower!

  19. i love chinese food! i have no self-control either when it comes to that! fortunately, i NEVER allow myself to have it… its the only way!

  20. Wow, that is so weird about your friend! I wonder if that’s happened to me and I don’t know it.

    The takeout looks really good. Much better than the norm. chinese takeout.

    Have fun at the shower!

    Heather

  21. very cool about your friend! have a great weekend!

  22. I drool over your photos all the time! Gosh, it all looks aaaahmazing!

  23. Thanks for mentioning me! Your so sweet! Your breakfast looks so good and it’s low calorie, I will be trying this combo 🙂

  24. eatinginbalance

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while but I don’t know you in real life! 🙂 Love your blog, though, your pictures are great – do you have any tips for photographing your food so well? Lighting, camera settings, etc?

Leave a comment